Read My Lips - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Read My Lips Reviews

Page 1 of 5
June 15, 2002
Cassel and Devos give the tale some much-needed gravitas, but as the movie descends into melodrama, it loses much of its initial charm.
August 4, 2002
Passionless and devoid of genuine suspense.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
October 4, 2002
Having changed into action gear, the picture never looks back, leaving two people who seemed wonderfully unique to do things that are cinematically trite.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 5, 2002
It's neither as romantic nor as thrilling as it should be. But it offers plenty to ponder and chew on as its unusual relationship slowly unfolds.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
November 5, 2002
Finally, the French-produced "Read My Lips" is a movie that understands characters must come first.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
October 25, 2002
...a rich and intelligent film that uses its pulpy core conceit to probe questions of attraction and interdependence and how the heart accomodates practical needs. It is an unstinting look at a collaboration between damaged people that may or may not qual
Full ReviewRead More | Original Score: A-
July 19, 2002
Read My Lips is not about deafness, lip-reading, crime or sex, but about that discovery; the plot simply provides the rails on which it rides.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
July 2, 2002
Although the movie contains elements of a romantic thriller, it is equally powerful as a drama.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
July 18, 2002
What gives the film its bounce is that there's no psychological exposition: Audiard has Godard's love of the visual gesture (not to mention his fascination with the way people's lives are altered by their fantasies).
September 20, 2002
The exposition does pay off, if you can stay awake that long. There's little gripping in the film until the second hour.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 2, 2002
This offbeat French film is entertaining enough to make headway in art house venues and appears ripe for an American remake.
July 1, 2002
The plot mechanics of Read My Lips eventually kind of spin into a fairly conventional thriller, but the wildly talented Cassel and the unconventionally alluring Devos give this movie a unique feel.
September 27, 2002
What makes the movie special is Emmanuelle Devos, whose performance as the secretary is full of surprises.
May 4, 2005
May be the finest thriller/romance hybrid of the new century.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
September 18, 2002
Full Review | Original Score: B-
July 31, 2002
Full Review| Original Score: 6/10
July 26, 2002
The deafness factor comes into play minimally. Though I knew it was possible, I can't tell you how refreshing it feels to finally see it on film.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
August 30, 2002
Read My Lips works on many levels, one being a fresh take on the 'office romance,' but a romance that evolves in a strictly nontraditional way.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
September 17, 2010
Crawling onto the razor's edge with bare hands, Jacques Audiard's film generates daringly uncomfortable, psychologically dangerous heat rarely found in romance of any stripe. Exhilaratingly paced, cleverly suspenseful and tastefully erotic.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
May 27, 2003
Art-house to the core, Read My Lips is a genre-curling crime story that revives the free-wheeling noir spirit of old French cinema.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Page 1 of 5