Read My Lips - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Read My Lips Reviews

Page 1 of 5
Ed Kelleher
Film Journal International
June 15, 2002
Cassel and Devos give the tale some much-needed gravitas, but as the movie descends into melodrama, it loses much of its initial charm.
Pete Croatto
Filmcritic.com
August 4, 2002
Passionless and devoid of genuine suspense.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Top Critic
Rick Groen
Globe and Mail
October 4, 2002
Having changed into action gear, the picture never looks back, leaving two people who seemed wonderfully unique to do things that are cinematically trite.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Roger Moore
Orlando Sentinel
September 5, 2002
It's neither as romantic nor as thrilling as it should be. But it offers plenty to ponder and chew on as its unusual relationship slowly unfolds.
| Original Score: 4/5
Steven Snyder
Zertinet Movies
November 5, 2002
Finally, the French-produced "Read My Lips" is a movie that understands characters must come first.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Philip Martin
Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
October 25, 2002
...a rich and intelligent film that uses its pulpy core conceit to probe questions of attraction and interdependence and how the heart accomodates practical needs. It is an unstinting look at a collaboration between damaged people that may or may not qual
Full Review| Original Score: A-
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
July 19, 2002
Read My Lips is not about deafness, lip-reading, crime or sex, but about that discovery; the plot simply provides the rails on which it rides.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
July 2, 2002
Although the movie contains elements of a romantic thriller, it is equally powerful as a drama.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Ella Taylor
L.A. Weekly
July 18, 2002
What gives the film its bounce is that there's no psychological exposition: Audiard has Godard's love of the visual gesture (not to mention his fascination with the way people's lives are altered by their fantasies).
Phil Villarreal
Arizona Daily Star
September 20, 2002
The exposition does pay off, if you can stay awake that long. There's little gripping in the film until the second hour.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Kirk Honeycutt
Hollywood Reporter
July 2, 2002
This offbeat French film is entertaining enough to make headway in art house venues and appears ripe for an American remake.
Top Critic
Richard Roeper
Ebert & Roeper
July 1, 2002
The plot mechanics of Read My Lips eventually kind of spin into a fairly conventional thriller, but the wildly talented Cassel and the unconventionally alluring Devos give this movie a unique feel.
Chris Hewitt (St. Paul)
St. Paul Pioneer Press
September 27, 2002
What makes the movie special is Emmanuelle Devos, whose performance as the secretary is full of surprises.
Nick Schager
Lessons of Darkness
May 4, 2005
May be the finest thriller/romance hybrid of the new century.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Eric D. Snider
EricDSnider.com
September 18, 2002
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Mark R. Leeper
rec.arts.movies.reviews
July 31, 2002
Full Review| Original Score: 6/10
Jeffrey M. Anderson
Combustible Celluloid
July 26, 2002
The deafness factor comes into play minimally. Though I knew it was possible, I can't tell you how refreshing it feels to finally see it on film.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Joe Baltake
Sacramento Bee
August 30, 2002
Read My Lips works on many levels, one being a fresh take on the 'office romance,' but a romance that evolves in a strictly nontraditional way.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Nick Rogers
Suite101.com
September 17, 2010
Crawling onto the razor's edge with bare hands, Jacques Audiard's film generates daringly uncomfortable, psychologically dangerous heat rarely found in romance of any stripe. Exhilaratingly paced, cleverly suspenseful and tastefully erotic.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Brent Simon
Entertainment Today
May 27, 2003
Art-house to the core, Read My Lips is a genre-curling crime story that revives the free-wheeling noir spirit of old French cinema.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Page 1 of 5