Read My Lips - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Read My Lips Reviews

October 4, 2002
Audiard has created one of those rare, commercially released movies that trades in actual, honest-to-god surprise.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 4, 2002
Having changed into action gear, the picture never looks back, leaving two people who seemed wonderfully unique to do things that are cinematically trite.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 20, 2002
See it now, before the inevitable Hollywood remake flattens out all its odd, intriguing wrinkles.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
September 5, 2002
It's neither as romantic nor as thrilling as it should be. But it offers plenty to ponder and chew on as its unusual relationship slowly unfolds.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
August 9, 2002
Thoughtful, provocative and entertaining.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
August 9, 2002
It's erotic, suspenseful and built around two surprising characters. Even better, it doesn't feel like every other thriller we've ever seen.
Read More | Original Score: B+
July 26, 2002
Fascinating and transgressive love story.
July 26, 2002
A beautifully calibrated drama.
July 26, 2002
Read My Lips is not a heist film, a thriller, a twisted romance, a film noir or a character study, but a unique concoction that bends all these genres to its vision.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
July 26, 2002
An inventive, propulsive office thriller.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
July 25, 2002
There's real visual charge to the filmmaking, and a strong erotic spark to the most crucial lip-reading sequence.
Full Review | Original Score: B
July 25, 2002
A sharp, inventive mix of love story and film noir.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
July 25, 2002
Overall, it's the best French thriller since With a Friend Like Harry two years ago.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
July 19, 2002
Read My Lips is not about deafness, lip-reading, crime or sex, but about that discovery; the plot simply provides the rails on which it rides.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
July 18, 2002
The powerful success of Read My Lips with such provocative material shows why, after only three films, director/co-writer Jacques Audiard, though little known in this country, belongs in the very top rank of French filmmakers.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 18, 2002
What gives the film its bounce is that there's no psychological exposition: Audiard has Godard's love of the visual gesture (not to mention his fascination with the way people's lives are altered by their fantasies).
July 18, 2002
This is a finely written, superbly acted offbeat thriller.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
July 11, 2002
The pleasure of Read My Lips is like seeing a series of perfect black pearls clicking together to form a string. We're drawn in by the dark luster.
July 11, 2002
The attraction between these two marginal characters is complex from the start -- and, refreshingly, stays that way.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
July 11, 2002
Read My Lips is to be viewed and treasured for its extraordinary intelligence and originality as well as its lyrical variations on the game of love.
July 9, 2002
[An] ingenious, amoral and atmospheric thriller.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
July 5, 2002
Throughout, Mr. Audiard's direction is fluid and quick.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
July 5, 2002
Read My Lips isn't just scary, charming and delightfully unpredictable - it's also smarter and subtler than any new movie out there.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
July 2, 2002
Although the movie contains elements of a romantic thriller, it is equally powerful as a drama.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
July 2, 2002
This offbeat French film is entertaining enough to make headway in art house venues and appears ripe for an American remake.
July 2, 2002
The movie shifts from workplace melodrama to neo-noir to deadly romantic caper with a bracing absence of cuteness.
July 1, 2002
Performances this vivid and complex deserve a richer, more imaginative context; it's like seeing Jake Gittes and Evelyn Mulwray shoehorned into Life as a House.
Full Review | Original Score: 55/100
July 1, 2002
The plot mechanics of Read My Lips eventually kind of spin into a fairly conventional thriller, but the wildly talented Cassel and the unconventionally alluring Devos give this movie a unique feel.