Real Steel - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Real Steel Reviews

Page 2 of 11
November 11, 2011
Characters' smug, this-is-so-cool!ness and jingoistic, heartland subtext tries to knock us into submission. The hero's one of those animatronic adults in kid's clothing.
November 8, 2011
Silly, corny and featuring nearly every boxing cliché... But fighting robots? Dads and their young sons will have a blast.
Full Review | Original Score: B
October 27, 2011
Even with my sense of humor firmly intact, I'm not sure that I've seen a more crassly manipulative movie this year. As cold and calculating as movies get -- a glossy, soulless piece of junk that wants you to cheer along, but it doesn't earn one ounce.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
October 21, 2011
The script doesn't do enough with the father-son element to keep us involved, and the CGI robot fights aren't sufficiently exciting to make us care about the rest
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 21, 2011
Battling to be heard above the metal-on-metal clangour is a heartwarming (read: terribly soppy) story of a broken family.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 19, 2011
Hugh Jackman refuses to let audiences leave Real Steel without being entertained, no matter how silly matters get.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 18, 2011
Think of Real Steel as Robot Rocky with a heartfelt father/son overlay and you can't go wrong.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
October 17, 2011
Its remote-controlled emotional responses leave little room for genuine uplift.
October 17, 2011
Better than Transformers. I fear that if I lower the bar any further, I shall pinch my toes.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
October 16, 2011
Real Steel is simply made for IMAX viewing, especially with the metal-verses-metal clashes in the ring.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 16, 2011
There's a certain poverty of imagination at work.
October 14, 2011
This is a ridiculous movie. And yet, I enjoyed the hell out it. Not just because Hugh Jackman is in it. In IMAX. Though that doesn't hurt.
October 14, 2011
From the billboards you might think this is another Transformers movie-heaven help us-when in fact, Real Steel is a cross between Rocky and The Champ.
October 14, 2011
a big, seemingly clunky contraption that works against all odds
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
October 14, 2011
Set in the year 2020 but scavenges its buffed and retooled spare parts not just from the Mattel aisle at Toys R Us but from a vast and ancient junkyard, overflowing with all the shameless crowd-pleasing hokum and staged public violence of eras past.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 14, 2011
This isn't just a great boxing movie, it's a great movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 14, 2011
This year's biggest, dumbest blockbuster. Like a hamburger dripping in grease, there's no nutritional value, but it goes down easily.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 14, 2011
This is 50 per cent violence and 50 per cent gross sentimentality - and in each half the clichés mount like a soufflé.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
October 14, 2011
A family movie like Disney used to make, with all the faults and bonuses that implies.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 13, 2011
Richard Matheson's classic science fiction short story ... is bastardized into a rehash of the old Wallace Beery weeper The Champ ...
Read More | Original Score: 1/5
Page 2 of 11