Red Lights - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Red Lights Reviews

Page 1 of 4
December 10, 2011
Recommended by Harry.
Super Reviewer
April 26, 2011
If you like to explore theories, you might wanna take this detour. I can only wish I'd avoided it. An utter disappointment, this friggin' (brilliant, for some; to each, their own) movie completely ruined my mood.
½ March 24, 2011
The story is ok if a little basic. The film was ruined by boring scenes of driving and by the fact that the main man was a little annoying. A gimp like him would never pull a ripper like his missus anyway so a bit of mismatched casting thown in too.
½ March 23, 2011
Here' what you need to know: there's a wussy husband, played wonderfully by Jean-Pierre Darroussin. He's a boozy insurance salesman, with a domineering wife, played with icy brilliance by Carole Bouqet, a lawyer whose success he resents bitterly. They both drive out to Paris to retrieve their children from camp, during which they learn that a criminal has escaped from prison. She leaves the car, and he tries to find her. That's about all you need to know as far as premise, other than Darroussin is amazing and director Cedric Kahn crafts a spellbinding thriller out of Georges Simenon's novel. It's a knockout.
November 24, 2010
Cleverly made; the tension between the couple leads well into the suspense of the latter half.
April 9, 2010
Red Lights is a languishing thriller that never takes off as such, and by no means does it have Hitchcockian suspense. Hitchcock built a suspense-tingling atmosphere brick by brick, whereas Red Lights doesn't do anything right. The movie did manage to engage me, but only mildly, and not for too long.
April 3, 2010
The plot of this French thriller feels somewhat inplausible and the two main characters are not particularly likeable. However a tense atmosphere is deftly conjured up as all Antoine wants to do is escape the claustrophobia of his Rover 75 car (interesting choice for a French character) with traffic jams, heat and a disinterested wife to contend with as they head south on holiday. He therefore takes every opportunity to take a break and down a few whiskies at the same time. The best thing about this film is the superb cinematography coupled with the Debussy soundtrack Nuages which makes the motorway journey look beautiful. The plot doesn't hold together so well but retains the interest. One minor point of interest is that the Irish Rocker that Antoine meets in a sleazy rock bar is played by a Micky Finn. I wonder whether it was the former T Rex bongo player of the same name who died around the time this film would have been made.
March 16, 2010
A nice diversion with great acting and some good suspense!!
January 4, 2010
Started out as a mundane domestic drama btw the bickering couple evolved into an unexpected suspense towards the end. Never a dull moment.
½ January 3, 2010
The French just do these kind of things so well. Suspenseful and atmospheric and not quite what you expect.
½ January 2, 2010
REVIEW: "FEUX ROUGES" ("Red Lights", 2004) - Great French thriller. Boozing husband threatened by his wife's more successful career embarks on a voyage that becomes a road trip to hell when his wife mysteriously vanishes. Gorgeous Debussy soundtrack.
November 3, 2009
Antoine is going through an alcoholic midlife crisis and he and his unloving, successful, wife set off from Paris to collect their children from a camp in the South of France. During the long drive the problems in their relationship show themselves, and after too many arguments and too much drink they become separated. The film has a sense of menace and mystery throughout the film kept me wanting to know more, I liked the portrayal of Antoine's drink and driving (which was terrifying), but felt that the end of the film didn't quite fit. The film left me with a lot of questions - how much was real?
February 18, 2009
At 1st I wanted to turn the movie off because it seemed to go into an intellectual yet undesirable direction, that the end would be disastrous, as so often European movies are. However, the film does well in using the uneasy music of several sources, mostly Debussy (if I remember the piece correctly) and it does well in executing the story through "showing" rather than "telling", which something instructors tell you in fiction writing classes.
½ December 7, 2008
Loved the feel of the movie but it's hard to feel for a character you can't sympathize with.
November 28, 2008
A slow starting film adapted from a novel by Georges Simenon which begins as a drama about a bickering married couple then gradually transforms into an intriguing mystery/thriller where what happens may or may not be real.
November 26, 2008
French suspense! One of my favorite genres and this film does not disappoint.
October 31, 2008
Not the greatest road movie story ever told, but the character driven story is appealing enough even though the characters themselves are not appealing at all.
October 23, 2008
dramatic, very watchable, a few laughs as well
July 22, 2008
I was lucky enough to catch this movie at Sundance and there was a Q & A session with the director afterwards. Great feel to this film - loved the vibe travelliing around France at night looking for bars etc.! It was a bit far fetched in parts, and possibly a bit long. Main character was so irrationally horrible that it was a bit hard to get over him, and that was probably the worst thing - all because his wife was a bit late! Not a bad watch though.
July 16, 2008
a couple with problems get into a fight while driving at night and while he is having a drink she leaves to take the train but never arrives. For a good detective story the film has too many length; for a psychological study it doesn't have enough depth.
Page 1 of 4