Reign Over Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Reign Over Me Reviews

Page 1 of 8
Fernando F. Croce
CinePassion
August 27, 2009
Mike Binder, a director of TV-sized smarm, continues to dismantle his own best effects
Tony Macklin
Fayetteville Free Weekly
February 2, 2009
Reign Over Me is like spending two hours with a shrink. Self-absorbed and repetitive, it has an occasional moment of truth, and a lot of hot air.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.0/5
Heather Huntington
ReelzChannel.com
August 26, 2008
A personal drama made accessible by Binder's unusual touch.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Felix Vasquez Jr.
Cinema Crazed
June 16, 2008
It's a gripping and very sad glimpse at grief and it's lasting effects on us when we truly lose something we cherish...
Jeff Bayer
The Scorecard Review
March 3, 2008
The main problem is Reign Over Me always skirts around the issue instead of tackling it head on. Depression and loss are hell, and hopefully friends can be there to bring you out of it.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Brian Webster
Apollo Guide
October 16, 2007
Like the characters populating it, this film leaves us with a sense that something is missing, but it's still smart, compelling, offbeat, and worth seeing.
| Original Score: 73/100
Tim Brayton
Antagony & Ecstasy
September 27, 2007
Pretty much a run-of-the-mill carbon copy of Rain Man.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
Joe Lozito
Big Picture Big Sound
July 14, 2007
Has its heart in the right place, and its message that everyone should be able to grieve in their own time is admirable, but Mr. Binder doesn't have enough to say to sustain the film's running time.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Stax
IGN Movies
June 25, 2007
Performances by Sandler and Cheadle give the film enough of what it needs in order to recommend it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Philip French
Observer (UK)
April 28, 2007
This is a rather glossy confection, extremely well performed, in which everyone's problems are perfectly resolved.
Sukhdev Sandhu
Daily Telegraph (UK)
April 20, 2007
This film manages to be not just bearable, but on occasion actually quite affecting.
Andrew Pulver
Guardian
April 20, 2007
Without Sandler, Reign Over Me would be a gloopy, post-9/11 love-in, making cavalier use of a fine but helpless cast.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Ian Johns
Times (UK)
April 20, 2007
It's as if 9/11 was simply coopted to bring an extra weight to a script that couldn't be trusted to deliver on its own.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
April 20, 2007
A self-indulgent addition to American cinema's post-9/11 cinema, Reign Over Me sees Sandler over-reaching himself in a straight-faced role.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Helen O'Hara
Empire Magazine
April 20, 2007
Cheadle's finest hour and proof that Sandler can act. Funny, sad and flawed - like its characters.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Marty Mapes
Movie Habit
April 19, 2007
Has a good heart, and does some things very well, but may bore passive audiences
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Matthew Turner
ViewLondon
April 19, 2007
Emotionally engaging, superbly acted drama with a terrific script and impressive direction from writer-director Mike Binder.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
David Jenkins
Time Out
April 19, 2007
Director Mike Binder has twigged on to the fact that if you root Sandler's genially churlish moron act into a more sober foundation, a vulnerable, believable and even lovable character can begin to emerge.
Paul Arendt
BBC.com
April 17, 2007
Worth anyone's time.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Mark Dujsik
Mark Reviews Movies
April 12, 2007
Successful until the rusty workings of its story gears start to show.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Page 1 of 8