Reign Over Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Reign Over Me Reviews

Page 2 of 8
Peter Canavese
Groucho Reviews
April 6, 2007
Builds up a nice head of steam...as a warm and quirky comedy of men trying to be men in a post-feminist world...also succumbs to niggling artificialities that drain the story of credibility and genuine heft.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Lori Hoffman
Atlantic City Weekly
April 6, 2007
Reign Over Me has some awkward stretches and comedy asides that don't always work, but the core story is touching ...
Full Review| Original Score: 2.5/4
Matt Brunson
Creative Loafing
April 5, 2007
Cheadle provides the movie with a sturdy center around which Sandler can orbit with his character's many moods.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Jette Kernion
Cinematical
April 4, 2007
To enjoy this movie, you have to look past the small difficulties and inconsistencies (and gender stereotyping) in character and story, soak in the images and the music, and focus on the delicate and interesting friendship between the two main characters.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Thomas Peyser
Style Weekly (Richmond, VA)
April 4, 2007
Reign Over Me surrounds its weighty subject with so much contrived nonsense that after a while the film feels like an affront to real suffering.
Rich Cline
Shadows on the Wall
April 4, 2007
It feels a little undisciplined at times ... but it's bracingly provocative.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Diana Saenger
ReviewExpress.com
April 2, 2007
Reign Over Me is an emotional film with clear messages about none of us having perfect lives. Sometimes it's a close friendship that provides the life jacket to keep us afloat.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Gina Carbone
Seacoast Newspapers (NH/Maine)
April 1, 2007
Long after I've forgotten this film -- starting with the stalker chick -- I'll remember the music and what it was trying to communicate when the rest of the film had its headphones on.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Cynthia Fuchs
PopMatters
April 1, 2007
Even as it probes the difficulties of coping with loss and showcases Cheadle's remarkable capacity for compelling understatement, the movie also grants Sandler too much time to perform his seriosity in close-up.
Pete Vonder Haar
Film Threat
April 1, 2007
There's a sympathetic therapist, the inevitable crack-up, and the requisite feel-good ending. It's like Fisher King 2: The Edge of Reason.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Frank Wilkins
ReelTalk Movie Reviews
April 1, 2007
Mark Binder greases the wheels of the Sandler/Cheadle on-screen magic with snappy, smart dialogue and expert direction.
Donald Munro
Fresno Bee
March 30, 2007
The friendly spark between them helps smooth over some of the potential pitfalls of Mike Binder's script.
| Original Score: B
Bob Grimm
Reno News and Review
March 29, 2007
One of those movies that keeps screaming "I'm a message movie!"
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Sean McBride
Sean the Movie Guy
March 28, 2007
a bit pie-in-the-sky, but I must admit that this simple story of male friendship got to me.
Full Review| Original Score: 3/4
Ken Hanke
Mountain Xpress (Asheville, NC)
March 28, 2007
Ultimately not a lot more than a sometimes engaging buddy/odd couple picture with important themes and some dime-store psychiatry poured over it in a generous serving.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Mark Palermo
The Coast (Halifax, Nova Scotia)
March 27, 2007
Binder's strength is in connecting characters to the world and then connecting them to each other.
Full Review
Pete Hammond
Maxim
March 26, 2007
This is a film you must see, a profound and deeply affecting experience that will stay with you long after its over.
| Original Score: 4.5/5
Kam Williams
DallasBlack.com
March 26, 2007
A meanspirited mood piece which begs to be appreciated as a meditation on the psyche of post-9/11 America but resorts far too frequently to stock Sandler humor to be of any more consequence than The Waterboy, Happy Gilmore or even Billy Madison.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
David Edelstein
New York Magazine/Vulture
March 26, 2007
The film is slick when it needs to be raw, tidy when it needs to sprawl, and amorphous when it needs to focus.
Sean P. Means
Salt Lake Tribune
March 26, 2007
Regardless of [its] faults, the core of Reign Over Me, the friendship between Charlie and Alan, remains strong.
| Original Score: 3.5/4
Page 2 of 8