Reign Over Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Reign Over Me Reviews

April 19, 2007
Director Mike Binder has twigged on to the fact that if you root Sandler's genially churlish moron act into a more sober foundation, a vulnerable, believable and even lovable character can begin to emerge.
March 26, 2007
The film is slick when it needs to be raw, tidy when it needs to sprawl, and amorphous when it needs to focus.
March 24, 2007
Binder's insistence on pitching everything at the level of either sitcom shenanigans or movie-of-the-week weepiness compromises any significance the subject matter might have.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/6
March 24, 2007
For all its flaws, Reign Over Me is still surprisingly affecting.
Read More | Original Score: B-
March 23, 2007
This is not a simple, uplifting tale. It's never clear whether Charlie will fully recover, and that sense of realism is the film's strength.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 23, 2007
At the very least, it puts a whole new spin on Billy Madison.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 23, 2007
There's something creepy about peddling such ideas without thinking through their moral or intellectual downside.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
March 23, 2007
Reign Over Me isn't nearly as arresting as it should be given its powerful subject matter.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
March 23, 2007
There are lots of things in the script that ring false, but the acting is honest, witty and soulful. Sandler's performance is perfectly believable while the weak link, surprisingly enough, is the writing.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 23, 2007
Mike Binder's oddball film keeps retreating into fantasy -- as if to avoid precisely the kind of issues that have kept the studios from confronting the legacy of 9/11.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
March 23, 2007
Cheadle is good, as always, but Sandler's portrayal of a guy on the perennial brink of a psychotic breakdown is amazing.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
March 23, 2007
A heartfelt but overly schematic movie that, in its attempt to explore the true cost of living one's life in denial, ends up superficial and banal.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
March 23, 2007
Movies about male friendship are often trivialized with the 'buddy' tag, but this one resonates beyond that.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 23, 2007
It's a tough ride, but worth it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 23, 2007
Reign Over Me drizzles down on us for two full hours, persistently determined to prove that, if it hangs around long enough, a coherent movie will turn up. No such luck.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
March 23, 2007
Director-writer and former Detroiter Mike Binder (The Upside of Anger) has always had a great movie in him, and it bursts out, emotionally, dramatically, sometimes sloppily yet always honestly, in Reign Over Me.
Read More | Original Score: 4/4
March 23, 2007
The movie often feels as if it's drifting, yet it has a sad, lingering presence.
March 23, 2007
A sentimental journey of solitude and friendship.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
March 23, 2007
When Reign Over Me misfires, it careens out of control.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
March 23, 2007
Reign Over Me quietly says that we're our problem friends' keepers. At its worst, the movie is a problem friend.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 23, 2007
Reign Over Me uses the rhythms and moods of comedy to explore, and also to contain, overpowering feelings of loss.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/5
March 22, 2007
Reign Over Me is a very gentle picture, intended to soothe us, not to jolt or shock us. But it's so gentle that it lacks any discernible energy.
March 22, 2007
This is not a simple picture. It's serious, disarmingly funny at times and certainly ambitious, yet diminished by some of the traits that have made the standard Sandler characters so popular.
March 22, 2007
Reign is a triumph for Cheadle and Sandler, whose performances strew the seeds of regeneration.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 22, 2007
There's no quick label for the kind of assured, humane films that writer-director Mike Binder makes.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
March 22, 2007
Although all the talk is about Sandler's performance, Cheadle's is every bit as good. He has a much tougher job, playing straight man to Sandler's semicraziness.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
March 22, 2007
The story begins to creak badly in the last act, but both Cheadle and Sandler are funny and poignant throughout.
March 22, 2007
When Binder isn't stuck on message, the picture has a breezy, inconsequential charm. But in at least two unforgivably manipulative scenes the movie asks us for feelings that it has not yet earned.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 22, 2007
It was a smart move, pulling Reign Over Me from last fall's release schedule. Perhaps the world just isn't ready for an Adam Sandler Oscar nomination.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
March 22, 2007
Sandler tries to please his existing fan base while also stretching himself to new and unexplored lengths. If you hear something snap, please inform the theater management.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 22, 2007
It's better than you'd expect but not as good as you'd like it to be.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
March 22, 2007
As Charlie Fineman, a Manhattan dentist who lost his wife and two children when their jet crashed into the World Trade Center on 9/11, Sandler is stuck in a movie that won't come unstuck.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
March 22, 2007
Binder has set a difficult bar -- to make a funny, sad, original movie about the healing power of not necessarily healing -- and he just manages to clear it.
March 22, 2007
It should finally lay to rest the question of whether or not Adam Sandler is to be taken seriously. I mean, Seriously.
March 22, 2007
Sandler is remarkable, expertly using the vacancy that defines his dumb-and-dumber comedies as a way to convey Charlie's netherworld.
Read More | Original Score: B
March 22, 2007
Reign Over Me has the best of intentions but, despite its desire to show how the perseverance of a good man can produce profound results, its bungles the attempt.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
March 21, 2007
A strange, black-and-blue therapeutic drama equally mottled with likable good intentions and agitating clumsiness.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
March 20, 2007
Adam Sandler and Don Cheadle head a strong cast in this affecting drama of friendship and regeneration.
March 20, 2007
You certainly have to appreciate that Sandler wants to stretch in such a fashion, but you also want material that allows him to do so more convincingly.
March 20, 2007
Reign Over Me closes with, at best, a cautious hope, leaving us more anxious than when we went in, and throughout the film there is a stunned and bewildered air hanging over the city, like a heavy smog.
March 16, 2007
[A] deeply heartfelt film.