Remember the Titans - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Remember the Titans Reviews

Page 1 of 7
January 1, 2000
Seems too easy, too feel-good, too lush. There's a theme-park feel to it, as if the powers-that-be had decided to open a Rosa Parks trolley ride at Disneyland.
January 1, 2000
I didn't believe the movie, or my tears, for a second.
August 2, 2002
Football ends racism? Yeah, right.
May 14, 2003
Will someone please make me a great football movie?
| Original Score: 2.5/4
January 1, 2000
Not as powerfully boring as Gone in 60 Seconds, less anti-erotic than Coyote Ugly, this is a civil rights tale for People's Court times -- the verdicts are speedy, vague and unconscionable.
January 1, 2000
Remember the Titans resembles a sports re-run of game plans that once seemed fresh.
January 1, 2000
Boorish and flatulent.
January 1, 2000
Insufferable.
May 8, 2001
When the hard battle for integration is served up as a feel-good package, we've all been bamboozled.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
May 29, 2008
Yakin's hackwork is so slickly manipulative and preachy it has the tone of a politician's TV commercial...
July 31, 2008
Maybe it's all true. But one is always a little discomfited when life, or a movie, imitates weary melodramatic patterns this slavishly.
January 1, 2000
Beneath its rah-rah rhetoric and pigskin proselytizing, it's no more provocative or thoughtful than a Hallmark greeting card.
January 1, 2000
I'd hate to fathom a film community dominated by Bruckheimer material.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
September 14, 2002
A wonderful crowd pleaser, and as long as you don't expect too much of it or think about it too deeply, it will remain a favourite.
Read More | Original Score: 71/100
February 7, 2001
With such volatile and interesting subject matter, we could have gotten more than a safe Really Good Bad Movie. We could have gotten a Good Movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
January 1, 2000
Denzel Washington should have held out for a better script before he signed on to star in Remember the Titans.
Full Review | Original Score: C
January 1, 2000
While male bonding surely can be a route to tolerance, in this case, it ends up looking painfully small-world-after-all-ish.
January 1, 2000
While various critics have pointed out the film's numerous historical inaccuracies, the social and political sugar-coating that takes place is even more disturbing.
January 1, 2000
After weeks of hating each other, the Titans inexplicably seem to unite over a Marvin Gaye song and a contest where they rank out each other's moms.
January 1, 2000
Once kicked, the ball deflates midway through the goal posts, and then lies there sagging for another 45 minutes.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Page 1 of 7