Repo! The Genetic Opera - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Repo! The Genetic Opera Reviews

Top Critic
Joshua Rothkopf
Time Out
November 16, 2011
| Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Susan Walker
Toronto Star
November 21, 2008
As it has evolved from a 10-minute cabaret piece, through a short film Bousman made in Toronto, to the big screen, Repo! The Genetic Opera has gained in both guts and gusto.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Stephen Cole
Globe and Mail
November 21, 2008
David Cronenberg might have made a great movie with the plot to Repo! The Genetic Opera.
| Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Ray Bennett
Hollywood Reporter
November 10, 2008
All-out thriller with few Bond touches but plenty of high-octane action.
Top Critic
Ben Mankiewicz
At the Movies
November 10, 2008
I hated this movie.
Top Critic
Ben Lyons
At the Movies
November 10, 2008
I don't know if words can describe just how awful and disgusting and insulting this movie was to watch.
Top Critic
Peter Rainer
Christian Science Monitor
November 7, 2008
Like a compost of Rocky Horror and Sweeney Todd, but without the floridity or the savage wit.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Top Critic
Kyle Smith
New York Post
November 7, 2008
The smudgy pall cast over everything by director Darren Lynn Bousman might work for a five-minute music video, but it quickly becomes as tiresome as the general air of bombastitude.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Mark Olsen
Los Angeles Times
November 7, 2008
The film is bad -- not good-bad, tacky-bad or fun-bad, just plain awful and nearly unwatchable.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Top Critic
Nathan Lee
New York Times
November 7, 2008
Darren Lynn Bousman, the director of several Saw sequels, has devised an excruciating new torture with Repo! The Genetic Opera.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Top Critic
Sean O'Neal
AV Club
November 7, 2008
It's remarkable that none of this proves exhausting.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Top Critic
Amy Nicholson
I.E. Weekly
November 7, 2008
Bad-good in the way the Rocky Horror Picture Show must have seemed to nuns, except without the shock, musicality, or Meat Loaf
Full Review | Original Score: C
Top Critic
Colin Covert
Minneapolis Star Tribune
November 6, 2008
This goth rock opera features buckets of gore, a campy score and melodrama galore in a calculated effort to become a 21st-century Rocky Horror Picture Show. Its creative juices, however, are strictly anemic.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Claudia Puig
USA Today
November 6, 2008
Repo! might have been an SNL or MADtv skit, but as a movie, it should be repossessed by its financiers.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Elizabeth Weitzman
New York Daily News
November 6, 2008
Check out the trailer before you commit to this one; if it's for you, you'll know instantly. And if it's not, you'll know that, too.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Peter Travers
Rolling Stone
November 6, 2008
Talented actors are involved, and I will spare them by not citing their names.
| Original Score: .5/4
Top Critic
Sean Howe
Entertainment Weekly
November 5, 2008
If steampunk bloodbaths aren't for you, it's a long wait for the fat lady to sing.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
Top Critic
J. Hoberman
Village Voice
November 5, 2008
So embarrassing that, for the first time, I wanted to avert my eyes from the screen, although that might have also been because Repo! appears to have been shot with a cell phone.