Vierges et vampires (Requiem for a Vampire) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Vierges et vampires (Requiem for a Vampire) Reviews

Page 1 of 3
October 20, 2015
Manged to watch 20 of it, fuck off.
½ October 3, 2015
As soon as you hear of this movie, you'll most likely be drawn in by sex appeal. If you focus on the actual substance of the film, you'll find that the film itself isn't completely bad. If anything, the only thing that's totally bad about the film is that there's no real explanation for what's going on. Only if you happen to have subtitles or understand French can you understand the dialogue, though I must commend the filmmaker for doing more with less dialogue between the characters. It seems weird, but I think the film is more atmospheric and more entertaining with less dialogue that could potentially come off as hackneyed. I was almost expecting the whole film to be silent, but thankfully that turned out not to be the case, otherwise nothing would make any sense in any language. For me, the film's obvious strength is its well-constructed gothic atmosphere, which actually benefits from the lack of dialogue present in the film. The music in the film also gives the film a certain vibe that makes the whole experience much better. To be honest, I was initially worried that this film would be more pornography than movie, but it turned out to be more of a silly horror flick than pornography. Obviously the director intended it to be a rather erotic film, and depending on your tastes, he may or may not have accomplished that. As a horror film, it's better than I thought it would be. Yes, it seems a bit like a lurid, dream-like gothic fairy tale, but that's why I'd certainly watch it again if given the chance.
April 29, 2013
85%

"Tonight is the night for your embrace, your first, we shall share your experience."-Vampire (Louise Dhour)

Out of Rollin's films, this is in my top five.
November 14, 2012
To be honest I can't give this movie a creditable review, but I can say that despite my love for "b-movies", I could not make it through even half of this film. The beginning seems to drag on with no speaking and yet somehow the acting is absolutely horrific, and not in a good way. By the time you meet any actual vampires, the film turns into a poorly done porno flick, and that was all I could bear before deciding to turn it was time to call it quits. I'm sure I missed what Jean Rollin was going for, but I'll accept the loss and never give this film a second chance.
October 9, 2012
This movie shows a bat(fake bat) performing oral sex on a a woman who is chained to a pillar. For me thats the only thing noteworthy about this slow paced, soft core, porno. haha
July 9, 2012
i just bought the blu ray 2 weeks ago . it looks better than most of the hollywood crap of the past 25 years . thanx to blu ray
DrStrangeblog
Super Reviewer
½ June 20, 2012
"Kill me. Just kill me now."

That's not a quote from the movie, that's a quote from me while trying to endure this snoozefest.
366weirdmovies
Super Reviewer
June 19, 2012
Two lesbian killers dressed as clowns flee the law and wind up in the hands of a vampire who needs them to perpetuate his race. This is a typically slow, senseless and surreal Jean Rollin lesbian vampire romp, except this one contains so many bondage and softcore rape scenes it actually got dubbed and distributed in the U.S. (under the title "Caged Virgins"). Beware the vagina bat!
Super Reviewer
½ October 23, 2011
'Requiem for a Vampire' is a combination of Jean Rollins fetishes and stylistic trademarks that, as a movie, has no idea what the hell it's doing. Fleeing the cops dressed like clowns? A vampire turning into a bat and sucking blood from a virgin's vagina? Rollin's movies are often fantastical movies that us horror fans go back to for the medieval castles, fog, lesbian vampires, and perhaps because all we have now is 'Twilight'. As one character states in 'Requiem for a Vampire', "You cannot be a vampire if you're a virgin."
½ June 20, 2011
Dull horror from the prolific Rollin.
½ June 7, 2011
Considering the time it was made not bad for a sexploitation movie. But it does show that Rollins albeit daring still didnt cross certain lines when it came to shock in cinema.
Super Reviewer
½ March 15, 2011
My favourite of Jean Rollin's series of vampire movies! It's in terms of story, characters, and sexy scenes. Plus, it's got that great atmospheric quality you get in all his films. I loved it.
½ October 31, 2010
Requiem For A Vampire is another journey into the gothic fairy tale world of French director Jean Rollin. I absolutly love his vampire films, and this is no exception. Requiem employs all the mechanics of all the other Rollin films ive seen so far...Creepy French Castles, little dialogue, gel lighting, incredibly gorgeous woman whith hypnotic gazes, cheap special effects, cool music and of coarse great atmosphere. I loved the way this film begins with the two female leads, dressed as clowns in full makeup, on a high speed chase through the French country side. It was beautiful. If i were to recommend a Rollin film to someone this wouldnt be the first one, but still if you get what the man is doing youll love this one too.
July 23, 2010
More moody visuals from the master of the Vampire film, Jean Rollin. As with many of his films this one is very erotic and dreamlike but it is often tediously slow. No need to worry about this being in French. To say that there is limited dialogue in this film would be an understatement. You get at least 30 minutes in to the film before anyone strings a sentence together. Don't expect satisfying story either. Just sit back and enjoy the visuals that are on offer. Chiefly that of two teenage virgins clamouring around the ruins of a Gothic castle dressed in nothing but knee socks. The biggest highlight of this film is Marie-Pierre Castel. She is extremely beautiful and you get plenty of close-ups of her mesmerising eyes. Not the best Jean Rollin film I've ever seen. But I can at least say Requiem has one of the most unnecessary scenes I've ever seen from him. This was when the Vampire changes into a bat and commits an act of bestiality. No need Jean
April 28, 2010
My FAVORITE Rollin film....surreal, beautifully shot...beyond words
½ December 29, 2009
An old erotic, gothic french movie. Too boring for being real erotism, too ship for great goth....
A cheap movie.
½ November 25, 2009
Avec le temps, on pourrait penser que j'ai appris que les superbes pochettes sont souvent un signe d'un produit de médiocre qualité,mais non!
½ October 24, 2009
A gem of surreal erotica which has always been misunderstood. For those unblessed with an imagination or seeking a gore fest it will simply be "crap" and "boring". With little or no plot or dialogue, shot on a shoestring, quirky, obsessive and naive, it sails dangerously close to being a Golden Turkey and yet is mesmerising and enchanting. Pure romance and sweet innocent delectable horror which goes deep to the root of the genre's appeal - the darker corners of the subconscious illumined by sudden flashes of reason - in an eccentric but memorable manner.
½ October 9, 2009
One of the worst movies I have ever seen. The first 20 minutes are okay but overall it's a very boring movie.
½ August 25, 2009
One of Rollin's better films, which is of course not saying a lot. Although everything else in it is bad, the camera work is often remarkable.
Page 1 of 3