Resident Evil - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Resident Evil Reviews

Page 1 of 7
December 5, 2016
A merely acceptable adaptation that feels more like a supernatural thriller with a couple of references to the game, involuntarily funny dialogue, and decent performances, than a terrifying production. [Full review in Spanish]
September 11, 2012
This adaptation captures the spirit of the video games and with its fun, anything can happen mindset and tons of over the top violence, 'Resident Evil' proves there may be a future for video game movies yet.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
August 7, 2008
This video-game-to-celluloid adaptation has a clammy, nightmarish glaze and tightly coiled sense of tension.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
January 7, 2004
... The Night of the Living Dead for the 21st century.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 17, 2003
In the category of zombie movies, this is top shelf.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
April 8, 2003
Don't expect Aliens but don't resign yourself to Ghosts of Mars either.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 19, 2003
The only real "cerebral" activity that should take place in a zombie movie is the consumption of brains by the heretofore mentioned zombies themselves.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 13, 2003
Milla Jovovich and Michelle Rodriguez kick zombie butt in this faithful, action-packed adaptation of the popular survival horror video game.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.5/10
October 2, 2002
It was fun and I got what I wanted ? that seems to happen less and less these days in the cinema, we should take all we can get.
Full Review| Original Score: 3.5/5
September 4, 2002
It works well enough, since the thrills pop up frequently, and the dispatching of the cast is as often imaginative as it is gory.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
July 20, 2002
On its own terms, Resident Evil updates the zombie genre with an anti-corporate message while still scaring its audience and providing heart-pounding action.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 14, 2002
As a slickly-produced piece of trash -- and, more importantly, as an adaptation of a videogame -- it holds its own.
July 10, 2002
It's nothing we hadn't seen before, but the pace is fast and there are some great action set pieces. Did I mention it has zombie Rottweilers too?
June 24, 2002
Anderson ... has enough sense not to let the pace flag for a second, filling the screen with ravenous flesh-eaters, explosions and special effects.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
June 22, 2002
Resident Evil es un videogame llevado a la pantalla y que pese a lo que digan, es la adaptación más fiel que se haya realizado en este rubro.
| Original Score: 8/10
June 20, 2002
Resident Evil is a rabid zombie thriller that splatters on the screen with gruesome joy. Intense, loud and fast-paced, this is the best video game-turned-movie ever.
| Original Score: 4/5
April 23, 2002
An exciting, frivolous ride through a vision of the future that may be bleaker than anything in Brazil.
Full Review | Original Score: B
April 12, 2002
... the current culmination of everything (Paul Anderson's) done to date... the results are pure cinematic fun.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 24, 2002
The film's modest and campy success hangs on the magnificent screen presence of Milla Jovovich, an angelic warrior clad in a red dinner dress and black combat boots, with piercing blue eyes.
March 17, 2002
Is this the future of horror or just some bizarre fluke? Don't ask me, I'm having too much fun to care.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Page 1 of 7