Restrepo - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Restrepo Reviews

Page 1 of 6
August 4, 2010
If that intimate access had been married to a stronger narrative structure, Restrepo might have been a great film instead of just a collection of striking moments.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
August 23, 2010
At this point in all our Middle Eastern conflicts, we need more from a documentary than just a grunts-eye-view of the frustrating nature of the war.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 13, 2010
The film's depiction is honest, but showcasing anything more engaging or important proves elusive.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5
June 21, 2010
Despite its remarkably intimate footage of war and loss, Sebastian Junger and Tim Hetherington's documentary suffers from the same problem as the ongoing U.S. drama in Afghanistan: a lack of narrative coherence.
February 1, 2011
Everything about the way this film is shot, edited and packaged scream of a desire to show the war exactly as it is.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
July 19, 2010
The directors push no agendas, but they also pull no punches. They show the soldiers in their bravest moments, most vulnerable and frightened moments, and even their most frighteningly bloodthirsty moments.
Full Review | Original Score: 8.8/10
October 6, 2010
Restrepo gazes unflinchingly on those at the heart of a contentious conflict and renders their experience viscerally and -- most importantly -- humanely.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 25, 2010
Restrepo is relevant now more than ever.
February 20, 2011
Restrepo succeeds as both a remarkable piece of cinéma vérité documentary filmmaking and a tribute to the soldiers who are put through hell.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 15, 2010
It's hard to watch the film without feeling a deep empathy for these guys, partly because they relate to the camera like it's a comrade, not an intruder.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
August 12, 2010
Riveting, harrowing doc shows the war we ignore
Full Review | Original Score: A
October 7, 2010
Film doesn't get more relevant.
Read More | Original Score: 5/5
August 13, 2010
...in some ways the most harrowing film I've ever seen
Full Review | Original Score: 89/100
July 1, 2010
This is hard, hard duty. A 15-month tour. Our admiration for these men grows. Their jobs seem beyond conceiving. I cannot imagine a civilian thinking he could perform them.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
August 6, 2010
In hewing closely to the rhythms of war, Junger and Hetherington forgo different considerations about war.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/5
June 22, 2010
The warrior drama unfolds organically, without artificial suspense.
June 28, 2010
It's the best thing I've seen in a long time.
June 24, 2010
This movie will stir your heart and open your mind. It's a group portrait of practicing patriots.
February 7, 2011
Restrepo captures the physical trauma and psychological torment that forms the essence of the 'War is Hell' mantra, regardless of which flag you fight under.
July 15, 2010
Restrepo deserves some highlighting as one of the very few films from our current "war years" that resonates after the lights go up.
Page 1 of 6