Resurrecting the Champ - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Resurrecting the Champ Reviews

Page 1 of 6
September 20, 2014
a must see for the performances
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
February 2, 2009
Resurrecting the Champ is a movie I was going to recommend. It was contrived and dopey, but it seemed like pleasant entertainment. Then came the terrible last ten minutes when it casts itself on the rancid junk heap of hokum.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.0/5
August 26, 2008
Nothing can wrench this movie from the grip of a saccharine, formulaic script full of plattitudes and divided allegiances.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
March 3, 2008
Even though the melodrama gets ratcheted up at the end, there were plenty of moments I found myself cheering for the Champ.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
February 29, 2008
a contender that doesn't quite take a championship belt.
| Original Score: 3/5
November 1, 2007
Resurrecting the Champ is a specialty of director Rod Lurie, a civics lecture disguised as a film.
Full Review| Original Score: 2/4
October 23, 2007
Success, adulation, temptation, disgrace, redemption -- it's all there, expressed mostly through the predictably non-expressive Hartnett.
October 22, 2007
A two-star execution of a four-star goal, and is therefore worthy of a viewing.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
September 11, 2007
Slow in the father-son heart to heart parts, Champ brings it all back home in the end with a great story line and saving performances by Jackson, Alda and Hatcher
| Original Score: 7/10
September 10, 2007
Like a championship fight, a movie is often reviewed in rounds. This being said, I think I'll go the safe route and call the film a draw.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 6, 2007
The script and director Rod Lurie just can't get the parts to meld.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 5, 2007
It's hard to have a genuine emotional response when the manipulative mechanics are all too strongly felt.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 2, 2007
Lurie's film actually works better as a study of a reporter coping with ambition and ethics as opposed to a story about Kernan and Champ or Kernan and his son.
Read More | Original Score: 6/10
August 31, 2007
...never becomes as compelling as it promises to be...
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
August 30, 2007
Everything is about winning respect versus earning it. This film earned mine. I'm glad I took a chance on it. By the look of my theater, not many others did.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 29, 2007
Reporters also refer to what they write as "my story."
Full Review| Original Score: 3.5/4
August 29, 2007
Towering over the entire picture is Jackson, who takes a showy role and invests it with so much humanity that it's impossible not to feel deeply for the character every step of the way.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 29, 2007
This is a story that anyone should be able to relate to because we all fall short of perfection.
Full Review | Original Score: A
August 29, 2007
Without Jackson -- and a little help from Alan Alda and Peter Coyote -- this would be another in the long line of instantly forgettable Josh Hartnett vehicles.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
August 28, 2007
Resurrecting the Champ is authentic in its newsroom scenes, and appropriately concerned at how entertainment value trumps diligent reporting.
Page 1 of 6