Return to Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Return to Me Reviews

Top Critic
March 22, 2002
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 21, 2001
Return to sender. Except for David Duchovny.
Read More | Original Score: C
January 1, 2000
Old-fashioned as all get-out, Return to Me is swathed in an unabashed feel-good tone.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 1, 2000
So innocent, so naive, so sweet and sincere, that you must leave your cynicism at the door or choose another movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 1, 2000
The film builds an implausible scenario into a credible and utterly charming romantic comedy.
January 1, 2000
Return to Me manages to disarm with its charm and delight with its bite.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 1, 2000
First-time director Bonnie Hunt has taken what could have been an incredibly sappy story and used her sense of comedic timing to fashion a date flick that even the guys might enjoy.
January 1, 2000
As if aware they are imprisoned in the subplot of a terrible movie, actors Carroll O'Connor, Robert Loggia, Eddie Jones, William Bronder and Marianne Muellerleile have a near mutiny on screen.
January 1, 2000
Duchovny is surprisingly out-of-joint with the romantic atmosphere.
January 1, 2000
It's a genuine attempt at a genuine movie.
January 1, 2000
An exceedingly pleasant, wistful romantic romp.
January 1, 2000
This film is energized by excellent performances.
January 1, 2000
This PG-rated trifle is the perfect movie to take your parents to see without fear of embarrassment.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 1, 2000
Return to sender.
January 1, 2000
Renders a bland, mall-bought local flavor.
January 1, 2000
Easily the most sane and encouraging romantic comedy since the far more polished, but equally expansive and ethnically flavored Moonstruck.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
January 1, 2000
Return to Me may win your heart, but it will probably try to stick it in somebody else's body.
January 1, 2000
A highly entertaining romantic comedy that is so sweet, funny and charming.
January 1, 2000
David Duchovny and Minnie Driver star in a movie that almost seems like a godsend in this age of romantic-comedy schmaltz.
January 1, 2000
It's the little things that make Return to Me worth a look. The small, sweet-funny touches and the offhanded, all-too-human moments are really the heart of this film.
January 1, 2000
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
January 1, 2000
You actually can care about the lovers, there's a fine sense of balance between humor and pathos in their story.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 1, 2000
As light and fluffy as it is, Return to Me still proves surprisingly inviting, thanks to some canny direction by actress Bonnie Hunt in her filmmaking debut.
January 1, 2000
You've got a romantic comedy that ain't much of either.
January 1, 2000
The movie suffers from a surfeit of affection.
January 1, 2000
The alluringly deadpan Duchovny can make no headway with Driver.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
January 1, 2000
Ultimately too bland and safe.
January 1, 2000
There is a satisfying, old-fashioned Moonstruck sensibility at work.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4