Revenge - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Revenge Reviews

Page 1 of 6
December 26, 2018
What Revenge lacks in believable biology it makes up for in style and highly satisfying action beats.
December 26, 2018
With her stylish and bloody rape-revenge thriller, French first-timer Coralie Fargeat turns a disputable subgenre upside down.
December 7, 2018
Nothing about Fargeat's approach to this tale is the least bit nuanced or subdued, because said tale practically demands a primal scream.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
December 3, 2018
Whilst the message is necessary, the power is lost in a slow movie that lacks the effectiveness of its French genre contemporaries.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
November 29, 2018
Revenge excels on nearly every technical level, and while the plot fits neatly into the rape-revenge subgenre, it easily puts all others to shame.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
November 8, 2018
Fargeat masterfully plays up to stereotypes before ingeniously subverting and owning them.
November 2, 2018
Inside its gorgeous, candy-colored packaging -- as confident a debut as we've seen in recent years -- Revenge has a warrior of a protagonist who is easy to root for, villains who are easy to hate, and satisfactory justice dispensed.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 1, 2018
Revenge is an intense, mesmerizing, and extremely brutal film. I can say without a doubt this film was my favorite at the International Horror and Sci-fi Film festival.
Full Review | Original Score: 9.5/10
November 1, 2018
Vengeance is a dish served gory in this stylish, brutish bloodbath.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
October 25, 2018
Had me on the edge of my seat the entire time.
October 7, 2018
Coralie Fargeat's Revenge, an overly stylized and banal riff on Abel Ferrara's Ms. 45, mistakes ambiguity for profundity.
September 21, 2018
Director Coralie Fargeat brings a unique sensibility to the way bodies - both female and male - are framed and it's clear that Revenge brings something new to the game.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
September 5, 2018
It announces the birth of a stunning new directorial voice.
August 29, 2018
Revenge lives in a lucid cartoon blood bath with an added feminist manifesto. [Full Review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 27, 2018
Fargeat's grasp of male entitlement and the elements of a rape culture are as sharp as her instincts for visual storytelling.
Full Review | Original Score: 4
August 27, 2018
Revenge reveals a filmmaker in full command of her language transforming the way of filming her female protagonist in her progressive step from erotic candy to phoenix and goddess of revenge. [Full Review in Spanish]
August 26, 2018
Rape. Blood. Desert. Blood. Death. Blood. Drugs. Did I mention blood?Revenge, directed by Coralie Fargeat, is the French rape-revenge film you've been waiting for.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 26, 2018
Feminist TNT. [Full Review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
August 24, 2018
Revenge is bloody, disturbing, tense, and highly stylized. French horror is so exciting right now and I can't wait to see more from Coralie Fargeat.
August 23, 2018
The script, lamentable in all aspects, does not even spend some time to develop the personality of the protagonist so that it rises slightly above the male villains. [Full review in Spanish]
Page 1 of 6