Revenge - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Revenge Reviews

Page 1 of 6
October 7, 2018
Coralie Fargeat's Revenge, an overly stylized and banal riff on Abel Ferrara's Ms. 45, mistakes ambiguity for profundity.
Top Critic
May 11, 2018
Though the film makes a valiant effort to subvert a sexist formula by shrouding itself in French art film trappings and pseudo-empowering femininity, it ultimately falls prey to its exploitative roots.
May 8, 2018
A slick production, but not the subversive classic we were hoping for.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
May 10, 2018
The male gaze is obviously a pivotal trope to grindhouse movies, and rape revenge in particular. But does it have to be? And at what point does critiquing the thing merely become recreating it?
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
May 2, 2018
Purportedly a feminist film because its rape victim is a superhuman survivor who fights back...Coralie Fargeat's "Revenge" is a stylishly shot exploitation movie whose heroine is defined by the amount of butt cheek peeking out of her short shorts.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
May 15, 2018
Torture and injury ensue, but nothing is as off-putting as the visual excesses which smack of student film-making beneath the high production values...
May 10, 2018
It all becomes very silly and very panto... The claims for feminist credibility feel very last-ditch indeed.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
May 9, 2018
Revenge is slick and stylish but also very shallow. It's more a cartoon than a real piece of drama.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
November 1, 2018
Vengeance is a dish served gory in this stylish, brutish bloodbath.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
November 8, 2018
Fargeat masterfully plays up to stereotypes before ingeniously subverting and owning them.
October 25, 2018
Had me on the edge of my seat the entire time.
November 1, 2018
Revenge is an intense, mesmerizing, and extremely brutal film. I can say without a doubt this film was my favorite at the International Horror and Sci-fi Film festival.
Full Review | Original Score: 9.5/10
September 21, 2018
Director Coralie Fargeat brings a unique sensibility to the way bodies - both female and male - are framed and it's clear that Revenge brings something new to the game.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
August 27, 2018
Fargeat's grasp of male entitlement and the elements of a rape culture are as sharp as her instincts for visual storytelling.
Full Review | Original Score: 4
August 26, 2018
Rape. Blood. Desert. Blood. Death. Blood. Drugs. Did I mention blood?Revenge, directed by Coralie Fargeat, is the French rape-revenge film you've been waiting for.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 24, 2018
Revenge is bloody, disturbing, tense, and highly stylized. French horror is so exciting right now and I can't wait to see more from Coralie Fargeat.
May 23, 2018
What happens next is expected-a roaring rampage of revenge, with each of the three hunters confronted like a video game boss-but Fargeat has some fun tricks to deploy.
May 10, 2018
Revenge is brutal and relentless, but it's all in service of a powerful rise from literal ashes.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
May 17, 2018
In theory it's nothing you haven't seen, but Revenge will make you feel like it is your first time.
June 20, 2018
Revenge is as much a jarringly smart exploration of gendered violence as it is a slasher spectacle.
Page 1 of 6