Rid of Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Rid of Me Reviews

Page 1 of 1
December 15, 2011
O'Grady is miraculous, but "Rid of Me" is more ordinary stuff.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
November 21, 2011
The beginning may have you wanting to bolt, but stick around, like its heroine does, and you'll be surprised by and drawn into this director's sick but quite relatable vision.
November 17, 2011
Comes at you like a horror movie before settling down into something quieter but equally skin crawling.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/5
November 17, 2011
It's a bittersweet ode to downward mobility and letting go that's a throwback to a time when slackerdom was more of a lifestyle choice than something forced upon you by grim economic realities.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.5/10
November 15, 2011
Think of it as a coming-of-age story ten years too late.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 1, 2011
Director James Westby breathes life in the suburban satire (hipsters don't come off that well either) and also brings a caffeinated jolt to micro-budget Northwestern filmmaking.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
April 25, 2011
Bracingly original, alarming and droll, the righteously ribald Rid of Me should prove a breakthrough for helmer James Westby and his producer and leading lady, Katie O'Grady.
December 1, 2011
This hectoring visual style becomes particularly irritating in combination with his rigid social stereotyping.
November 18, 2011
O'Grady is very good, but she can't make the hard-to-watch Rid of Me dramatically credible.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
November 18, 2011
Unconvincing tale of self-empowerment has attitude and anxiety but nothing underneath.
November 17, 2011
Westby's nervy story is like "Desperately Seeking Susan" played straight. Let's hope O'Grady's next film meets this one's potential.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
November 16, 2011
"Rid of Me" is a dud.
Full Review | Original Score: D
November 15, 2011
Rid of Me is a bad movie, but at least it's a flailing, innocent badness.
November 13, 2011
At once hopelessly amateurish and given to desperate assertions of auterist "virtuosity", the film seems as lost as its perpetually confused and gratingly childlike protagonist.
Full Review | Original Score: .5/4
Page 1 of 1