Rise of the Planet of the Apes - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Rise of the Planet of the Apes Reviews

Page 1 of 13
October 23, 2017
The story has big ideas but is underwritten, the acting is pedestrian at best, and though the CGI apes are very well actualized, they still look cartoony at times.
September 27, 2017
Rupert Wyatt delivers on the giddy pleasures - climbing, leaping, swinging, plus the irresistable high of an upward-rushing learning curve.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
September 8, 2017
It's a surprisingly provocative film that really stretches the definition of summer blockbuster.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
August 30, 2017
Rise of the Planet of the Apes is simian cinema at its best.
August 21, 2017
Apes is one of the better political films I've seen lately, and its arrival in theatre is oddly timely, given current events.
March 15, 2017
You can tell me all day that this is great, Avatar-like use of animation. I'll even grant the point. But though I was engaged in the first half of the film, this action section left me looking at my watch.
June 14, 2016
With little dialogue but a world of emotion in his face, eyes and body, [Andy Serkis] not only keeps us on our toes but also has us rooting for the apes to trounce humanity.
July 17, 2014
If you're a fan of the series, you'll love it; if you're not a fan it may make you one.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
July 10, 2014
Save Christopher Nolan's "Batman," no film so brilliantly reinvigorated a franchise more than this, a thrilling opening act that's equally captivating and leaves you anxiously awaiting the next installment.
Full Review | Original Score: 8.5/10
June 24, 2013
Caesar [the main ape] is the reason to see this daft, breathless picture.
June 23, 2013
Rise of the Planet of the Apes has some life to it as an action film, but every time anyone opens their mouth, man or beast, you'll feel like someone figured out a way to sneak in groundbreaking CGI into your middle schooler's class play.
Full Review | Original Score: C
February 28, 2013
Overall, Rise of the Planet of the Apes is intermittently entertaining with a few nice nods to the original series.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
February 15, 2013
The bad news is that whenever this prequel's CGI apes aren't on-screen, you're wishing the flesh-and-blood actors would get the hell off!
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 14, 2013
Audacious, violent and disquieting, "Rise of the Planet of the Apes" is a summer sequel that's better than it has any right to be.
October 2, 2012
Despite thin human drama, and one note supporting characters, Rise of the Planet of the Apes is a surprisingly sincere story that elevates the franchise canon.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 25, 2012
Despite some pretty glaring plotholes, the combination of astonishing special effects and a tension-filled story makes for a gripping and worthy rebirth for the franchise.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 19, 2012
Had the second half of "Rise of the Planet of the Apes" not descended into silliness, perhaps the film would have been a more worthy addition to the Apes legacy.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 18, 2012
Surprises at all corners with characters we can care about who transcend the illusion of CGI most of the time...
January 27, 2012
Somewhat shockingly, the modern interpretation of mankind's downfall is actually pretty darn good.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 2, 2012
The substance of the film is simply mesmerising: the way in which it prioritises story over spectacle, saying so much without explicit over-statement is a triumph, and it is for good reason that it is one of my picks for Best Film at next year's Oscars.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Page 1 of 13