Rize - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Rize Reviews

Page 2 of 5
July 7, 2005
Rize does not so much report on a cultural phenomenon as package it.
Full Review | Original Score: C
July 6, 2005
Exuberant, colorful, viscerally exciting but overly flashy and sadly disorganized.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
July 5, 2005
I come from the old school and prefer to dance with a partner, but you have to admire the fitness and stamina these kids must have to perform at breakneck speed.
July 5, 2005
With a running time of only 84 minutes, Rize frequently feels padded. However, there's no denying the fascination of watching these bodies in motion and the ascendency of a new, American-born art form.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 3, 2005
Krumping isn't a fad for the amazing young people we meet in RIZE; it's a lifeline. And for LaChapelle, it's a triumphant first documentary feature.
July 1, 2005
The dancing, which at first may seem purely ridiculous, becomes an expression of their tortured souls
Full Review | Original Score: 73/100
July 1, 2005
As captured by LaChappelle, krumping is indeed compulsively watchable. But as packaged the experience of watching it falls short of being meaningful.
July 1, 2005
[LaChapelle's] not the world's best documentarian, but he saw something that needed chronicling. So he turned his camera on the krumpers and let them do the rest. Smart choice.
Read More | Original Score: B
July 1, 2005
Clowning and krumping are urban art and art therapy in motion.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
July 1, 2005
It's a feel-good film that actually makes you feel good.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
June 30, 2005
A portrait of pure positivity, and it is spectacular.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
June 29, 2005
An urban portrait as stirring as it is novel.
June 27, 2005
It's an incomplete film. We don't get to know these kids well enough.
June 27, 2005
...you get the feeling LaChapelle either missed something or simply didn't want to see any possible influences from "white" pop culture. They're there.
June 27, 2005
Exhausting to watch, but impressive.
| Original Score: 3/4
June 26, 2005
Whenever we see them, they are either dancing or talking about dancing. We don't see their everyday lives, and hence don't get a feel for who they are.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
June 25, 2005
Offensive or enlightening? You tell me.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
June 24, 2005
Part mosh-pit melee, part epileptic seizure, the dancing on display in David LaChapelle's Rize is furiously violent and yet strikingly beautiful.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
June 24, 2005
LaChapelle reveals the captivating qualities of gritty street dancing, and his film is a touching story of hope, vitality and art rising from the bleakest conditions.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
June 24, 2005
LaChapelle does offer a revealing slice of South Central life, but treads some dicey waters.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/5
Page 2 of 5