Road of No Return - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Road of No Return Reviews

Page 1 of 1
March 6, 2015
The costumes and hairstyles are some real pieces of work. But the characters are racial caricatures. The first introduction between the main characters is an entirely racially charged and prejudiced stand-off. Given such a stupid, humble beginning, you wouldn't expect good things to come to fruition, but they try to. Somewhat, when the creep-factor doesn't smother them. The low-brow thread is maintained in bits and pieces of comic relief central to the bigoted "Whitey" hit man, while the real story dealing with disillusionment and loss of innocence mostly revolves around the two main villains (one of whom is David Carradine) and the two hit men known as "Foreigner" and "Blackie". So you almost have two movies, one with junk dialogue against one with philosophical quandaries, one with cheeseball delivery caricatures against one with wooden performances depicting creeps. The creepier subject matter constantly detracts from the movie's better qualities. The camera work is minimal, but the framing is quality.
½ April 9, 2012
A solid crime thriller with strong performances and dialogue that is almost worthy of a Tarantino film.
½ February 23, 2012
Complete rubbish! How do people get the $ to make these movies!?! My cats could write a better script in their litter box. I'm usually not this harsh on movies, but when I have to turn a movie off less than a half hour into it I have to warn others to STAY AWAY!
½ January 15, 2012
O filme tem roteiro ruim e pelo jeito foi investido pouco $$. Só ganhou 2,5 estrelas pq foi um dos últimos filmes do David Carradine.
September 21, 2011
Great David Carradine and BMW E34.
Super Reviewer
April 2, 2011
A pretty decent independent film with a great mix of style and characters but if it had a larger budget it could of looked and been better. A decent story with some great and funny characters and some strong performances.
½ October 25, 2010
Toi tu es un sacrà (C) p'tit mailin...
ouais... t'as pas idà (C)e !
½ March 22, 2010
if you were ever curious what would happen if you got an indian, a middle-eastern, a black dude and a racist obnoxious red neck together and they were all hit-men and lived in the same house to do a job then this ones for you!! good movie, you will laugh, you will cry, you will say shut up you dumb redneck!
January 10, 2010
far better than i thought it would be one of the best black comedys iv seen in a while both the late great david carradine and michael madsen work excellent together as do the rest of the cast its one to watch
January 6, 2010
Probably one of the worst films ive seen! Sad to think that something so bad ended up being one of Carradines last films.. Anyway Avoid this like the plague.
November 5, 2009
Kaxektipo tarantino. Krima gia Madsen kai Carradine
½ September 11, 2009
Trying too hard. Yet , amusing. Do not take this film seriously.
September 8, 2009
Define Irony... you'll have to watch it to find out what I am talking about
½ August 29, 2009
an absolutely attrocious movie with no redeeming qualities whatsoever. i really starting to get sick of michael madsen and his choice to play every character exactly the same, it honestly feels like the guy has no range anymore. the big reason i rented this is that i want to watch every david carradine movie, but some are definitely worth skipping, likt this one, for sure.
½ August 2, 2009
sometime the bad guy is not that bad.....u know to see what is inside.....
½ July 23, 2009
O filme tem roteiro ruim e pelo jeito foi investido pouco $$. Só ganhou 2,5 estrelas pq foi um dos últimos filmes do David Carradine.
½ July 19, 2009
Egesz jo film. Bar a plakat csaloka, mert david carradine inkabb mellekszereplo.
July 6, 2009
for one of carradines last roles he should of picked a better movie. Very poor acting, storyline, filming. just a very low budget film - cant madsen do a good film any more
½ June 26, 2009
Not Madsen's best film thats for sure. Very much a "been there, done that" sort of plot line also.
June 7, 2009
Well done Cinemax for showing a Carradine film to mark his passing (not so well done for programming one of his worst and one in which he commits suicide). The film itself was directed by a doctor and, at one point, it did seem the only reason such seasoned vets would agree to appear in such amateurish tosh were if they were patients of some recovering actor's rest home whose staff had decided to make a movie out in the desert as part of their recovery (the dialogue, obviously written by a the doctor's ten-year old son, is unimproved by their presence, however). Nothing much to be said for the lackluster fight scenes and ketchup bottle shoot-outs either. I kept getting the feeling I was watching a sweary, day-time soap opera, a feeling exacerbated by the endless maudlin scenes of gangsters going gooey over a little girl accompanied by the sort of syrupy score you'd expect to hear in Home and Away. Carradine made tons of these cheap straight-to-DVD clunkerds and it is going to be hard to compile a decent list of watchable movies if a tribute series is to be programmed.
Page 1 of 1