Rocky Balboa - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Rocky Balboa Reviews

Page 1 of 9
January 22, 2013
...a strong capper to an admittedly uneven series...
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 6, 2010
A compelling and emotionally touching film that reminds of the first two Rocky movies, Rocky Balboa is an excellent finale which shows just how good an actor Sylvester Stallone is when given the right material.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 6, 2010
You either buy into this premise or you don't and I'm sorry to say I found Rocky utterly preposterous.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
July 6, 2010
Stallone still has what it takes to make Rocky the peoples champ, and while the film is by no means a knockout, it will certainly be right there 'til the final round.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
January 25, 2010
Note to any other would-be franchise revivalists -- consult Stallone.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
April 25, 2009
Stallone wrote and directed this cinematic ride down memory lane that puts a final grace note on his indelible creation.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
April 23, 2009
It's no knockout, but it does go a solid, nostalgic 15 rounds.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
November 20, 2008
In the obligatory boxing terms, Balboa will K.O. your expectations, but that may only be because they're rightfully below the belt to begin with--and because this sixth installment is coming after the bell has already rung.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 18, 2008
I know, I know, you're thinking, oh please, not Rocky again. I was thinking that too.
May 5, 2008
With "Rocky Balboa", Stallone's created the first real "sequel" to his original, a deserving bookend that recaptures that film's sense of character and realistic detail.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
April 10, 2008
Stallone, now 60, has something in common with Rocky - he's an awkwardly bulked-up dinosaur, fighting to prove that the game hasn't passed him by. On that level, he succeeds.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 10, 2008
There's nothing particularly memorable here -- no profound triumphs or lasting rallying cries.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 14, 2007
For a series that seemed out of gas decades ago, Rocky Balboa is a knock-out.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 10, 2007
A wonderful last hurrah for a character that deserved a proper send-off...
March 31, 2007
Though technically the sixth in the series, this sure seems an awful lot like a remake of the first film in the storied franchise, as it somehow manages to tug at the heartstrings in a way likely to leave you wiping away tears afresh.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 29, 2007
Rocky se retira con dignidad en este broche de oro de una saga que %u2013con sus puntos altos y bajos- debe considerarse un triunfo personal en la carrera de Sylvester Stallone.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 24, 2007
Like its odds-defying hero, Rocky Balboa is the biggest surprise of the holiday season.
March 1, 2007
Equally heartfelt, equally moving, equally astute about the iconographies of movies and classic characters, Rocky Balboa -- and I hate to say it, but what can I say -- knocked me out.
February 23, 2007
Stallone wanted this movie to restore dignity to his greatest character. He succeeds, better then anyone might have expected.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
February 17, 2007
This is a masterpiece of a sequel. And for the sixth entry in the series, that is really saying something. Sly, you've done it! The big guy goes out fighting.
| Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 9