Rogue One: A Star Wars Story - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story Reviews

Page 1 of 21
April 22, 2019
A really enjoyable film.
April 16, 2019
Familiar thrills, but still a Star Wars footnote.
March 30, 2019
The pace may be more slow-cooked and its tone may be bleaker than we're used to, but so much hits right on target and makes the force strong with this one.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
March 20, 2019
This is a passable action movie and that's about it.
Full Review | Original Score: C
March 8, 2019
In clear rebellion from the Saga franchise, Edwards has taken Star Wars in a glorious new direction.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 14, 2019
I know that for the next few years, at least, I'll see fewer and fewer interesting, engaging, stories, and more and more interchangeable shells surrounding interchangeable explosions.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
February 13, 2019
[Rogue One: A Star Wars Story] is a full and engaging addition to the Star Wars canon, the sort of striking cinematic experience that is reminiscent of the reasons we came to love the Star Wars in the first place.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
February 6, 2019
Edwards submits a distinct, though ultimately uneven work that never quite manages to become the spectacle or ensemble piece it hopes to be.
January 29, 2019
Rogue One demonstrates that filmmakers can still do great things and expand this fascinating universe. [Full Review in Spanish]
January 26, 2019
The first half felt like all action and no real character development, by the end of the film I found myself caring for the Rebel team as they undertook their last mission...
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 9, 2019
Rogue One isn't a bad film, but it has some serious problems, which prevent it from being great.
January 8, 2019
The truth is, what Rogue One truly succeeds at is repackaging a familiar experience so expertly that it feels unique.
January 2, 2019
Chirrut's abilities borderline the trope of portraying disability as a superpower, but thankfully writers avoid offense by giving him a personality and character development that has nothing to do with his eyesight.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.50/5
December 17, 2018
This is the prequel we were looking for.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
December 7, 2018
Having people of all racial, cultural, and ethnic backgrounds gives Star Wars the legitimacy it needs as both a contemporary film in a multicultural world and as a space opera itself.
December 6, 2018
An engrossing tale of war showing the hearts of those who fight it, fans of all ages are likely to find a resonant story worth telling.
Full Review | Original Score: 9.0/10
December 6, 2018
A truly worthy entry in the "[Wo]men on a mission" subgenre of war film, Rogue One roars triumphantly into theaters as one of the very best Star Wars films ever made.
December 6, 2018
It may be the best suicide squad movie of 2016.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
November 12, 2018
I enjoyed every minute of it.
November 11, 2018
As a piece of fan fiction, Rogue One neatly ties into the original movie in an impressive way. But as a piece of cinema, it is entirely inconsequential and no amount of impressive special effects can hide the fact that it is soul crushingly dull.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Page 1 of 21