Rogue One: A Star Wars Story - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story Reviews

Page 1 of 20
September 5, 2018
Great battle scenes, heartfelt characters, and the knowledge that there can only ever be one make this a real gem amongst stones that have, at times, struggled to shine.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
August 30, 2018
A surprisingly dark yet brilliantly action packed and fun anthology film
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
August 29, 2018
When the action pivots on the exciting plot point of data transfer rates ... this mundane crisis doesn't seem elevated to a planetary level of urgency.
August 27, 2018
As the Rogue One draws to its utterly stunning space-battle close, it seems to feel it needs to hold hands with A New Hope - when it really just needs to pass the baton.
August 27, 2018
Edwards has a keen sense of awe and little regard for the humans underfoot.
August 27, 2018
I wanted to feel more in the trenches with these guys...but the action that was there was really good...I liked it more than the Force Awakens, and if you are a Star Wars fan, I'd say go see this right away.
August 26, 2018
It has everything hard core Star Wars fans want -- a feisty heroine, comic relief, quirky and unlikely heroes, incredible sets, and a soaring score.
August 22, 2018
There is zero depth here. You keep hoping for a transgressive moment that will make the cringe-inducing dialogue and gratuitous fan service worthwhile, but it never comes.
August 3, 2018
If you miss this point, the sacrifices of a revolution, then you will not understand the greatness of Rogue One.
June 13, 2018
This is the plot-driven space opera (with delightful elements of a space western) that I wanted/needed.
June 12, 2018
Rogue One is an enjoyable addition to the franchise and Jones's Jyn is a compelling lead.
April 11, 2018
Rogue One: A Star Wars Story is a reminder of your dreams, of the barriers you'd break to create a better world, one full of hope and liberty where the word sacrifice takes on a whole new meaning... [Full Review in Spanish]
March 21, 2018
While we don't have the same nostalgic attachment to Cassian, Bodhi and Jyn, that's what unburdens Rogue One, giving it a freedom to tell a story on its own terms.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 22, 2018
It was nice to see something that was set in the Star Wars universe, but had a different tone to it.
February 21, 2018
By shifting to a higher power characters actually cry out to, Edwards achieves a rousing tale of honor and sacrifice that both deepens and broadens the rest of the Star Wars world.
January 30, 2018
When the film slows down enough for the dialogue to sink in, we realize that the story, such as it is, has been cobbled together from all previousStar Wars films combined.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
January 25, 2018
... the flaws in the film are in that first hour of build up the rest of the movie is really good if not great...
January 18, 2018
While I loved The Force Awakens, it relied a lot on the nostalgia...But this movie? It could stand on its own and still be amazing.
January 16, 2018
Can I just say that I liked Rogue One: A Star Wars Story better than the last four Star Wars stories--even The Force Awakens, which was the top grossing film of 2015?
Full Review | Original Score: A
December 27, 2017
The action in "Rogue One" is extremely well-staged and exciting, and it's fun to see its small connections to the larger "Star Wars" universe...
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Page 1 of 20