Roman de gare - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Roman de gare Reviews

October 18, 2008
Full Review | Original Score: B
August 22, 2008
Lelouch is now 71 years old, and I bet he's never had as much fun with a film. Roman de Gare threads plots and characters and twists together like a demented weaver.
June 27, 2008
Even if the game isn't entirely successful, it's fun to play along.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
June 6, 2008
Forty years after his breakout success as a filmmaker, Claude Lelouch makes something of a comeback with his playful and sexy whodunit, Roman de Gare.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
May 30, 2008
Lelouch and his longtime writing partner, Pierre Uytterhoeven, slyly exploit and subvert audience expectations.
May 23, 2008
I think I understand the alternative realities of the plot, and I concede the loose ends are tied up, sort of, but I didn't care.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
May 22, 2008
Don't go to the theater expecting too much and you can't help but leave with a smile on your face.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 22, 2008
Lelouch's deft touch with various cinematic styles, however surface, enables him to interweave pastoral elegy, quirky social comedy and thriller with fluid ease.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 16, 2008
The movie is more entertaining than it is logical; its narrative leaps are sometimes ahead of our ability to believe them. But as the compellingly enigmatic Pierre, Pinon keeps us rapt.
May 16, 2008
An ingenuous knot of plot, expertly tangled, in which nothing is quite what it seems.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
May 16, 2008
Pinon and Dana are so striking together.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
May 16, 2008
If you're willing to go along with it, as I was, then being manipulated -- or at least actively misled -- becomes a pleasure.
May 9, 2008
It's the smartest and best suspense movie you're likely to see for a while.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
May 1, 2008
A glossy, enjoyable thriller that isn't quite as tricky or Hitchcockian as it wants to be, Roman de Gare gets by on high style and nice central performances by rubber-faced Dominique Pinon and Audrey Dana.
April 30, 2008
A sly catalog of deceits and a gentle commentary on slippery creativity and desire.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
April 25, 2008
Lelouch's film is the cinematic equivalent, enjoyable fluff that your mind will discard after the closing credits -- but worth seeing nevertheless.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
April 25, 2008
The story's Hitchcockian plot loses steam quickly, though Pinon's salty presence keeps things from getting totally bloodless.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
April 25, 2008
[Director Lelouch] doesn't really move much beyond his usual glib panache here, but the plot is intriguing and so are the actors.
April 25, 2008
The twists and convolutions of the film's beginning and end enable a middle that is dizzying domestic comedy.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
April 24, 2008
Roman De Gare's neatest trick is [Dominique] Pinon's performance, which draws out a hitherto unseen leading-man allure.
Read More | Original Score: B-
April 24, 2008
Despite the superb acting and wonderfully sly dialogue, Roman de Gare can't tie all its bows neatly enough to be truly satisfying.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
April 24, 2008
Despite all my reservations, I think it is worth seeing, though I do not approve of all the trickery involved.
April 24, 2008
Though Lelouch has toned down his penchant for putting pretty pictures ahead of plot, there's still a nagging sense of disposability.
Read More | Original Score: 3/6
April 22, 2008
The term 'Hitchcockian' has become overused in recent years, but here is a movie to which it deserves to be applied.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
April 21, 2008
The problem with Roman de Gare is that the tale grabs you more than the telling.
April 17, 2008
With a winning combination of tension, romance and humor and picturesque locations from Paris to Burgundy's vineyards to the seashore at Cannes, the film is a Francophile's feast.
April 11, 2008
It's vintage Lelouch, a cinematic page-turner racing from chic winery to hardscrabble farm to sleek yacht on the Mediterranean.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
March 17, 2008
Infectiously enjoyable.
March 12, 2008
Self-financed pic, which opens in Gaul on June 27, won't do much to win Lelouch any new fans at home or abroad. But it should amply please the old ones.