Romeo and Juliet: Sealed With a Kiss - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Romeo and Juliet: Sealed With a Kiss Reviews

Page 1 of 3
½ June 3, 2015
Though the animation is nice (extremely nice from one sole animator), there is nothing to say about this one. The acting is wooden, the character models of romeo and juliet are so bad it's creepy (it was like I was watching child porn) the jokes are lame, everything is mean spirited, the songs are forced and forgettable, and it's just ANNOYING ANNOYING ANNOYING. This is a worthless pice of scum from a very talented person, and probably his worst project ever.
August 8, 2014
This movie makes me high.
May 2, 2014
Though the ending I didn't care for, this movie on its own is actually a lot better than I thought. Give Phil some credit, he was the ONLY animator working on this, which he also directed a produced. Its not easy and took him 4 years to complete this film. I do see flaws here and there, and hardcore William Shakespeare fans wont enjoy this since it dose change a lot of the plays material and a few major characters. But with the High-budget crap in kids movies now a days and company's only trying to hip and all. I find this movie to be enjoyable. It certainly doesn't harm anyone.
½ December 7, 2013
If there's one thing I can't stand, is a talented animator who tries so hard, but results in total disaster. Phil Nibbelink, one of the many animators who participated in such films such as The Fox and the Hound, Who Framed Roger Rabbit?, and The Great Mouse Detective (and much more), had spent 4 years ON HIS OWN to animate, direct, write, voice act and edit (also some music) this one project: Romeo and Juliet but with animated seals... not that there's anything wrong with that. I have told some students about what this movie's about, and they cringed in confusion. The idea, when spoken might sound silly, but if you add,; "But it was good." the audience could have been proven wrong. It COULD have worked, if it was done well. I know that this movie was intended for a younger audience, but that doesn't mean that they wouldn't notice the problems. Children are more observant than adults because they are naturally driven to discovery. The character designs for Romeo and Juliet, are way to childish (looks too young). At first I thought Mercutio was Romeo. He just seemed like the type, he looked the right age (and a lot more attractive). When I heard Romeo's voice, being what I assume is the voice of a matured 17 year-old, while Romeo looks no older than 7! That's like giving Jake Lloyd the voice of James Earl Jones... IT DOESN'T WORK!!! And, to see these "young" characters in love with each other made me feel unclean. But, all and all, the characters were at least somewhat enjoyable, especially Friar Lawrence (until he started rapping...), but the one character that ruined the whole movie for me, was Kissy the Kissing Goldfish... yes, it's true. There is no reason for this character to be in this movie. NONE!!! It feels as if she was supposed to be in another movie but got lost and ended up in this one and didn't even realize it. I'M NOT JABBING AT PHIL NIBBELINK'S DAUGHTER who did the voice-JUST THE CHARACTER. I couldn't help but to throw my arms back and yelp "Aw COME ON-Not you again!!!" Even when the movie drew me into it, she pops up and ruins the flow of the movie. Just when I could sympathize with Romeo being banished, Kissy pops up and sais one of the stupidest lines I've ever heard: "I don't like the ocean, it's too wet." ...Excuse me, but you NEED that wet stuff to BREATHE and LIVE... YOU-ARE-A-FISH!!! And singing Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star didn't keep me from falling off the edge of sanity either. Aside from the characters, the continuity was the biggest problem. Mercutio has this big death scene where the Prince chases after him and throws him off a cliff (even though in the play, the Prince never touched him). not to long afterwards, literally 2 to 3 scenes later, the camera dollies backwards and we see and hear Mercutio... alive and breathing. WHAT??? he even shows up at the end during the part when the Montagues and Capulets cry over the "death" of Romeo and Juliet,... surfing and joking around. The shark somehow loses his pectoral fins, sea otters could talk and breath under water, and nobody dies (which is good, considering the target audience for this movie. The animation... beautiful. It's great that these characters are so rubbery and fluid in their movements, they can still maintain their volume. in fact, the animation got progressively better throughout the movie. It's just the designs I had trouble with. More amazingly, he managed to do all this on his own. So if the question be asked, "Is it possible for one person to create a whole movie on his own (animated wise)? Yes. But if asked, "Is it possible for one person to create a whole movie on his own, and be done well?" Not in this case. There's nothing wrong with an artist working on an independent project, but when in the industry, reference and brainstorming is essential. As for this movie, it was great in visuals, but bad in everything else. Maybe bad is too strong a word... I just feel bad saying these things about this movie, because, I really admire this animator, definitely in my top 10. It's like reviewing one of Don Bluth's later films without saying something that might offend him. They both worked in the same industry. I'm not sure what was the motivation behind making this movie, but there was still hope that this could have been a better movie. Take it for what it's worth. I rate this movie 4.2/10.
August 6, 2012
One of the best independent Flash-Animated projects I have seen in my life!!! ­???­???
½ July 31, 2012
La animaciˇn de la peli es horrible por mas que intente ser fluida los colores estan puestos de una manera dolorosa y que solo dan ganas de quitartelos de tu vista de una vez. ademas de adaptar una historia que ya conocemos de hace generaciones y sobretodo de una manera simplona y nada especial (Almenos el Rey Leon 2 hizo algo para ser una buena adaptaciˇn de Romeo y Julieta aunque la historia haya sido incomprensible).
November 11, 2011
It's so pretty and Romantic.
July 7, 2011
Even considering that this is trying to be a kid's version of R&J, it was still too silly for me. Some nice animation, but the seals are just too silly.
½ May 4, 2010
It's a rip-off of The Little Mermaid. I watched it and I thought that the only thing good about this movie was the animation. Why does this movie have such positive reviews?!
January 21, 2010
The Plot and character development are the bottoms of the barrels, but nice animated film
December 31, 2009
ah-dorableee (: saw w/younger cousin !
½ November 1, 2008
bad animation but great story and songs
½ August 22, 2008
jst because its a cartoon and i am a sucker for cartoons
½ June 27, 2008
this is a very cute movie for all ages. it's funny and romantic all at the same time if this doesn't warm your heart then nothing will
May 31, 2008
Reason: no intention to see an adaption of this play.
February 14, 2008
I was shocked and suprised by the negative reviews I saw on the web, I thought this film by Phil Nibbelink (director of An American Tail : Fievel goes West) was very good from the moment I saw the trailer; and also I love seals.

I always love the works of Shakespeare (ever since I studied him in my High School English Classes),and I agree with Laura Tiffany of "Home Media Magazine" and Rick Bentley of "Fresno Bee" : It's Impressive and a sweet film that should delight the family. Overall all that, I give this a big A+ for :

┬Ě Great Backgrounds and Excellant Color Styling
┬Ě Very Good Music
January 21, 2008
:fresh: I ADORED this movie,its funny,Family freindly,& a great way to introuce kids to shakespears work.
January 19, 2008
Cute but just a little bit strange.
½ January 12, 2008
FUCKING TERRIBLE! animation was terrible, agh waste of time, i stopped it @ the middle. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY ON THIS!
½ December 10, 2007
The approach to R&J was pretty cute, Mercutio was my fave even if he did tell a bunch of god-awful jokes. I was blown away though when I found out that one guy animated the WHOLE thing! Amazing! That guy must have a ton of patience.
Page 1 of 3