Romulus, My Father - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Romulus, My Father Reviews

Page 1 of 1
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
February 29, 2008
For all that it's well made and expertly acted, the film keeps its audience at arm's length, letting viewers observe without offering an emotional portal of entrance.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Tim Grierson
L.A. Weekly
February 28, 2008
Romulus, My Father is a stacked deck determined to make you feel bad, but it rarely makes you feel anything else.
Geoff Berkshire
February 29, 2008
Gaita clearly had a rough childhood, but while the tragedies of his young life pile up on screen the drama remains frustratingly inert.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Top Critic
Russell Edwards
June 11, 2007
Helming bow by Oz thesp Richard Roxburgh predictably leaves actors plenty of room, but the literary tone and episodic structure rob the pic of dramatic momentum.
Top Critic
Peter Hartlaub
San Francisco Chronicle
February 29, 2008
It's not clear what we're supposed to take away from the film.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Joe Morgenstern
Wall Street Journal
February 29, 2008
The darkness of the story is counterbalanced by some of the most radiantly beautiful cinematography I've seen in a long time.
Brian Orndorf
February 29, 2008
The picture has a tranquil, gentle nature about it that's almost soothing, while offering examples of familial terror Roxburgh processes superbly...there's much to admire.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Amber Wilkinson
Eye for Film
June 14, 2008
Builds up an emotional head of steam that draws audiences towards it.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Sara Maria Vizcarrondo
Boxoffice Magazine
October 6, 2007
A beautiful mediation on the struggle of immigrants in Australia and the power of the father-son bond.
Top Critic
Carina Chocano
Los Angeles Times
February 29, 2008
For all its sad moments, Romulus, My Father is a love story between father and son kept aloft by unalloyed admiration.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Urban Cinefile Critics
Urban Cinefile
June 11, 2007
It's fitting perhaps that a film based on Rai Gaita's memoirs should play rather like a string of memories; we don't remember the past in a linear story but as patches, chapters, moments, sometimes merely fractions of their entirety.
Page 1 of 1