Room 237 - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Room 237 Reviews

June 12, 2013
A curious and entertaining documentary.
May 10, 2013
The human brain is a marvellously suggestible organ.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 10, 2013
[A] strange, frustrating, occasionally fascinating doc ...
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
May 2, 2013
"Room 237" evolves from an ode to movie love at its most delirious to a wry examination of the crackpot mind at work.
April 18, 2013
There's enough real evidence supporting the theory that Kubrick was a genius, and that's pretty entertaining all by itself.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
April 18, 2013
It's about the human need for stuff to make sense - especially overpowering emotional experiences - and the tendency for some people to take that sense-making to extremes.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
April 12, 2013
The results can range from enlightening - Kubrick did like to mess with things - to embarrassing. But it's never dull. "Room 237" shines.
Full Review | Original Score: B
April 11, 2013
You don't have to buy any of the nutty theories in Room 237 to appreciate what director Rodney Ascher has accomplished.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
April 11, 2013
It's nuts, in the best possible way.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
April 5, 2013
Their imaginings are not far removed from the deconstuctionist gobbledygook that has hammerlocked academic film and literary scholarship. But here at least the gobbledygook is entertaining.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
April 4, 2013
[It] may be the surpassingly eccentric-and enormously entertaining-film that Kubrick deserves.
April 4, 2013
"Room 237" is an act of uncommon devotion to cinema, embracing the notion that movies are best defined by what happens to us as we watch them - how our own beliefs and experiences dictate our interpretation of what we've seen and heard.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
April 4, 2013
This is sure to amuse you if you get a bang out of the claims that Paul McCartney died in 1966 and Dark Side of the Moon was intended as a soundtrack for The Wizard of Oz.
April 4, 2013
I found most of what's actually put forth in the film interpretively ridiculous. But I'm just one theorist among millions, and the film worked for me anyway.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
April 4, 2013
Listening to fanatics go on and on about their fixations can be kind of fun. For a while, at least.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
April 1, 2013
As amusing as the movie is, I think in the end that Ascher misses the labyrinth for the trees.
March 29, 2013
The theories proposed in the doc "Room 237" aren't eye-opening. They're laughable.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
March 29, 2013
A beautifully edited, deeply strange compendium of what different people have read into a single film.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
March 28, 2013
A thrilling testament to the fact that art is - and should be - open to interpretation.
March 28, 2013
This movie about a labyrinth with a monster at its center is itself a labyrinth, [Ascher] tells us; better leave a trail of breadcrumbs behind you if you hope to get out.
March 28, 2013
Part of what makes "Room 237" fascinating to watch and think about (beyond other people's loopiness) is that it shows how works of art become encrusted with their reception.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
March 28, 2013
Ascher's unique and unforgettable film is a tribute to movie love. I couldn't have liked it more.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
March 28, 2013
Maybe they're all right. Or wrong. It can't be settled. What matters is that people are still crazy about the beauty of a beautiful movie about going crazy.
March 28, 2013
The effect of Room 237 is intense. It's a deep dive into the rabbit hole of semiotics, designed to train viewers to become alert to what they're really seeing.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
March 27, 2013
I found myself torn between wanting to see The Shining again immediately and never, ever wanting to see it again.
March 27, 2013
It works like a Kubrickian Da Vinci Code, and it lures you into seeing The Shining as a kind of feature-length Zapruder film.
Full Review | Original Score: A
March 26, 2013
Room 237 evokes the appeal of conspiracy theories while refusing to endorse or completely disavow them.
March 26, 2013
Steadily, Room 237 becomes a rare kind of bird: a critical analysis that leans not on unquestionable authority but creative speculation.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 21, 2013
...brings the realms of film theory and conspiracy theory a bit closer together.
December 6, 2012
[An] intriguing documentary ...
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 23, 2012
What's attractive about 'Room 237' is how it demands that we look more closely at films, and think about motives and subtexts.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 30, 2012
One of the great movies about movies.
January 27, 2012
A wacky, sometimes hilariously esoteric deconstruction of the subliminal messages and hidden meanings in Stanley Kubrick's The Shining.