Route 666 - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Route 666 Reviews

Page 1 of 6
½ June 25, 2015
What a piece of crap!
May 24, 2015
I tried to like this film, but it disappointed me with boring bad guys and graphics, but some of the acting was pretty good and Rabbit was kind of funny. And this film made me so scared of the road and concrete (sarcastic voice).
June 10, 2014
Even the AAA does not cover this type of service. The spirit of four murdered chain gang members haunt a tortured stretch of abandoned highway where Federal Agents attempt to transport a key witness. Rather unremarkable 90s zombie horror.
½ September 3, 2013
Plagued by terrible writers, Route 666 will make you cringe and feel uncomfortable due to its' god awful plotline, cast, and the general fact that the movie looks and feels like a cheesy 90's porn film.
½ July 30, 2013
Get Your Kicks On Route 666--Fun old-fashioned B horror movie!!
Super Reviewer
½ May 26, 2013
Ridiculously stupid. One of the dumbest films I've seen.
December 3, 2012
I looooooved this movie from the moment I started watching it. I admit, it was a bit sluggish at first, but this is one of the movies I love because the director knew that people wouldn't sit around forever to watch a horror movie unless it really is good. What it may (or may not) have lacked in that quality, he made up for with interesting effects, an evenly timed plot, and a very interesting story based around one of the most famous roads in the U.S. Using the popularity of this one road and making a horrific tale from it-very well done. Loved the actors a much as the story, Lou played Jack very well, and L.Q. did the part of Sheriff Conaway good with his portrayal. Though this movie will never have another in its name, I'm hoping that someone will be able to recreate this or juggle the same concept at some point in the future.
November 9, 2012
alright its boring but yea i cant defend it
September 13, 2012
Couldn't get through it. Interesting idea but zzzzzzz
½ July 23, 2012
This is not a good movie. It was boring and not scary at all.
July 6, 2012
A no-budget, no script, no logic snooze fest. This was just terrible all the way around.
½ February 21, 2012
WIth a silly plot and horror/action sequeunces with stylistic resemblances to early 90's PSAs there's nothing here to entertain anybody but diehard B-movie enthusiasts
½ November 17, 2011
Grade: A-

I wanted to give route 666 a very good rating because it deserved it and because it's a different horror movie in the genre. Federal Marshall's and a witness in protective custody have to get from a small California dessert town to Los Angeles on a cursed road that's been condemned for years known as route 666. It's a independent film and is very good for those kind of horror films. There are some also very good performances from lori petty, lou dimand phillips, and Steven Williams. Route 666 is a very good b- movie horror film if your looking for. So kick back open a cola and get that popcorn poping and get your kicks on route 666!
November 10, 2011
Cool 1969 Pontiac Catalina.
Everybody in this film is wearing Ray-Bans.
Super Reviewer
October 10, 2011
Quite possibly the most boring zombie film out there.
½ December 1, 2010
Route 666 had its heart in the right place, just never went anywhere with what it really wanted to do. I must say that having construction-worker ghosts with deadly equipment vs. cops was something I would be interested in seeing, but the flick never really showed anything to be honest. The opening was one for the books with a good shoot-out but somewhat dragged down from there. While having them appear in the daytime probably didn't help the budget, I do admit that it somehow worked on me. Gave it a creepy vibe. William Wesley did Scarecrows before helming this movie and hasn't done anything since...He's not terrible so I don't see why... he was pretty stylish. Pulling off some sweet angles and interesting tricks... Except for that weird stop-motion-esque crap he pulled anytime the ghosts attacked. What the hell was up with that anyway? It didn't have any effect on me and just annoyed. The characters were so-so. I must admit I laughed at some of their lines (for actually being funny) and was entertained by their shenanigans. Lou Diamond Phillips was fine most of the way, had a couple of weird moments. La Bamba in the house!!! Lori Petty has a charisma about her that I can't shake, even when she's playing a butch cop. Alex McArthur was kind of lame here. The garbage role didn't really help. Steven Williams made me laugh so my eyes he was good. Wasn't much more to the character than that. Dale Midkiff seems to love playing characters that we'd love to hate and here was another example. He he can break free of it when the time comes... L.Q. Jones plays a Southern fuckhead... that's it. He's alright. Mercedes Colon looked hot and horny. That's all the role really asked of her. Furthermore on the deep end, there was way too much going on here for people to try and fit into one movie. Why try to establish so much when your movie is aiming for not even an hour and a half mark? None of them were useful, especially since I knew most of them were going to die. Although the gore was pretty good when it showed, a movie like this one was begging for there to be more. Sadly, it never came and instead wanted to do some trippy montages during the stalk sequences. Not cool. The script is also filled with plot holes on how certain characters bite it and/or live. But I wasn't put off by this so that says something. Definitely a movie for an extremely lazy day or good for something in the background while doing house chores or some shite like that. The movie's amusing and simple. Just don't expect to be scared or amazed.
Super Reviewer
½ June 3, 2010
I couldn't believe that I made it through this...

May 30, 2010
Definitely not Lou's best, but it was damn freaky. I've always been a big fan of Lori Petty...It was a good syfy "B" movie for sure"
May 27, 2010
An average film overall. Not too shabby, but not a gem either. The acting is suprisenlgy decent for a low budget film, alot of plot holes, but good job to Lou Diamond Phillips who kinda makes his performence believable. the plot is your basic cheesy horror flick with a few corny comdeny and plain corruption mixed in. but a good watch to kill some time.
½ May 18, 2010
garbage. what the hell were they thinking?
Page 1 of 6