Corri, uomo, corri (Run, Man, Run) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Corri, uomo, corri (Run, Man, Run) Reviews

Page 1 of 2
½ August 13, 2011
A gem of a western directed by Sergio Sollima (the 3rd and last of his westerns), this film takes the fool thief character (Milian) from "The Big Gundown" and follows him on his journey for gold. He gets himself into the middle of a deadly race which provides for a great story. The film is funny, exciting and romantic. A true epic but never pretentious about it. Sollima's direction is stellar and he really uses the huge Chromoscope canvas to great effect. Ennio Morricone provides the music (though he is uncredited).
June 29, 2011
A spaghetti western precursor to the modern uninspired action-comedy.
Super Reviewer
½ January 3, 2011
In my opinion, this sequel to The Big Gundown is a lot better than its predecessor. Not only does this feature more of the Italian superstar known as Tomas Milian, it has a better thought out plot and set of characters. It also has no problem being completely trashy; such as the mudfight between two bombshells. It has a lot more heart than it needs to, but also delivers on the violence and gore expected of a Spaghetti Western. A really like the whole Mexican Revolution involvement in this, it sort've just plays in the background as a frame of reference.
½ October 28, 2010
I thought this was pretty good sphaghetti fun. if you are into this sort of stuff, this one is worth watching
July 13, 2010
Americans might have created "the western"...
but I swear it took the Italians to get them right!

Director, Sergio Sollima knows what he's doing here. He manages to keep the pace of RUN MAN, RUN moving along at a healthy clip while coaxing believable and entertaining performances out of his cast.

RUN MAN, RUN has it all!

- Great direction...
- Engrossing story...
- Memorable characters...
- Stunning landscapes... (You can almost feel the grit in your teeth)!
- Torture...
- Double-crossing...
- Triple-crossing...
- Gunslinging...
- A catfight...

- - - and a hero who brings a knife to a gunfight!

Tomas Milian is, as usual... fantastic. Of all the "non-American" actors I've ever seen in a Spaghetti Western... Milian is the best. It always seems like he's having tremendous fun with the roles he takes. I've never understood why Milian's career didn't translate into success in North America. Franco Nero is an Italian actor who enjoyed some level of fame and recognition stateside and while I've always liked Nero... I've always found Milian to be far more versatile.

RUN MAN, RUN affords Milian a rare opportunity to play a subtly, comedic role as Cuchillo, the deadly accurate, knife-throwing thief with the heart of gold. Cuchillo chases down $3,000,000 in gold with self-serving bounty hunters, violent bandits, fanatical revolutionaries, bent government agents and even the Salvation Army all hot on his heels to beat him to it.

Lots of action... lots of humour... lots of drama.

Nice!
½ March 10, 2010
This is a rad fairly obscure spaghetti western that deserves to be discovered. Funny and violent. Blue Underground dvd did a good job restoring it.
June 23, 2009
Worth seeing but despite the traditional high body count this has a slightly different feel to the usual spaghetti western - too many noble thoughts and gestures by presumed anti-heroes.
½ May 12, 2009
I kinda wonder if anyone was still taking things seriously when the two main actress mud wrestle over the halfwit knife thrower hero of the movie, who is named Cuchillo which is Spanish for knife cause he's a creative guy. I still pretty much enjoyed it. Sadly, it only shows that the very talented Sergio Sollima's marxism has turned him into a racist shrew. Appearently, "Third world heroes have so little education they can't even use a gun." At least, He is a racist shrew who knows how to make a pretty good movie and how to get a mud wrestling scene in there.
½ October 19, 2008
It's a great spaghetti western and Tomas Milian is one of the most underrated actors of all time. Look at his performance here and then his performance in Traffic, he stood out in both because of his talent.
½ October 3, 2008
I wasn't sure what to expect. A second or even third tier suckfest, really.

I couldn't have been more surprised. Yeah, it suffers from some bad acting, and the immemorable lead characters are disappointing, but it was entertaining and worth watching for anybody who enjoys westerns, especially the spaghetti kind.
September 20, 2008
Superbe réussite du western italien !
Aventures, humour et un grand Tomas "Cuchillo" Milian en Méxicain zapatiste !
Connu en France sous le titre "Saludos Hombre"...
½ August 19, 2008
Tomas Milian is off the leash in this pleasurable politically charged spaghetti western. The idea of a main character who brings knives to a gunfight is an entertaining device.
June 10, 2008
Tomas Milian is such a talented actor, he really brought the film to life.
May 2, 2008
In the past few weeks, I've seen more spaghetti westerns than it is healthy to see in the course of a few weeks. Of all of the spaghetti westerns I saw, only one managed to match Sergio Leone's classic trio with Clint Eastwood as far as film-making technique goes, and that was Run Man Run. Never does the camera work become sloppy, like it inevitably does in a Corbucci movie. Never does the action slow things down too much, like in A Bullet for the General. Never did the plot suffer from the film's low budget, like in Django Kill. The whole movie was very well made, and the story was perfectly told. The actors were all good, and I found Milian's Cuchillo character to be a nice change of pace from all the suave, self-assured gunslingers that populate the average spaghetti western. The director, Sergio Sollima, is as technically competent as Sergio Leone, but he avoids the flashy editing tricks and the sudden close-ups that Leone uses. Sollima's style is more natural, but no less effective.

The only thing keeping this movie below the likes of The Great Silence or the Leone classics is the ending. Instead of actually finishing the story, Sollima ended the movie with a classic duel, and a chase. The movie's ending doesn't match the brilliance of the endings of For a Few Dollars More or The Great Silence, but it is satisfying, even though it doesn't resolve the plot.

If you have friends who have never seen a spaghetti western, the best place to start them would be a Clint Eastwood-Sergio Leone movie. But after that, Run Man Run would not be a bad follow-up. Sergio Sollima is a very good director, and I am looking forward to seeing his other spaghetti westerns as soon as they are released on DVD in this country.
March 4, 2008
Run Man Run further proves that spaghetti westerns were for the most part, really bad. Shortbus is all sorts of awful and it is, surprise, saved by the convincing sex. I remember being surprisingly pleased by Opening Night, but I can't say much more. Shakes the Clown was awful and Beowulf was fun.
½ February 9, 2008
As usual, Tomas Milian is a blast to watch. Cuchillo could have been in a thousand westerns and I never would have lost interest.
½ December 11, 2007
This sequel follows the character of Cuchillo from The Big Gundown through an adventure during the mexican revolution. Thomas Milian is great in this role, injecting a likeability to the flawed character. A very fun experience, Cuchillo struggles to make the 'right' decisions during the film. This can be enjoyed by most Spag fans as well as western fans too.
Page 1 of 2