Safe Haven - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Safe Haven Reviews

Page 3 of 8
February 21, 2013
Lasse Hallstrom directed. I can only hope he did it for the money.
February 21, 2013
Moves along at the pace of a leisurely paddled canoe, until the big, explosive, action-y roll-call finale of everything and everyone, in one place, at one time, plus fireworks.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
February 20, 2013
Plods along with dialogue just above the level of crayon scribblings, and the direction by the usually reliable Lasse Hallström is dismayingly sluggish.
February 18, 2013
Safe Haven is a blandly 'vanilla' film; attractively shot in picturesque locations, peppered with recognizable if unexciting faces, and delivering a simplistic homily about love conquering all that only a teenage girl could love.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
February 18, 2013
It's hard to imagine a blander duo than Hough and Josh Duhamel as they knock awkwardly against one another in their painfully telegraphed love scenes, and a third-act twist is unintentionally hilarious.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
February 17, 2013
The real problem though... is the ending. The laughs during the preview screening and the post-film discussions with friends in foyer confirmed I was not alone with my thinking.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
February 16, 2013
... another slick and calculated beachfront love story that should please Sparks' legions of indiscriminate fans while making even casual cynics cringe.
February 16, 2013
See it if you love this kind of paint-by-numbers Hallmark romance that ranges from the dull to the ridiculous. But please, don't drag your significant other with you to it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
February 15, 2013
From author/producer Nicholas Sparks, the cornball master who gave this generation its Love Story with The Notebook, comes another full-bodied, four-course serving of perfectly prepared romantic mush.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
February 15, 2013
Audiences will leave with tears in their eyes, believing in the power of true love. Or, in the alternative, trying not to slip on the schmaltz left as residue from the movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
February 15, 2013
Their love story has a mellow ease -- as neither of them has much of a personality, we're just watching two swell people decide to bone
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
February 15, 2013
The Nicholas Sparks novel inspired movie is neither inspired nor novel. For those who love this stuff, your sugary treat awaits.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
February 15, 2013
Does Sparks have to treat people like total idiots...?...[A] soulless-cash-grab.
Full Review | Original Score: .5/4
February 15, 2013
Sappy and tear-stained, it's filled with the sentimental schmaltz that characterizes the appeal of this kind of chick-flick.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
February 14, 2013
Did I really just grade this a half-point better than "Die Hard 5"? Excuse me while I puke.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.3/5
February 14, 2013
Is Safe Haven a good movie? N. Will you take your girlfriend to see it anyway? Yep. So enjoy the good moments and try not to laugh outloud during the rest.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.25/5
February 14, 2013
It's as though the filmmakers lacked the confidence to stick with the basic story, which served every element needed in a Sparks-infused guilty pleasure.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
February 14, 2013
There is a bit of a surprise at the end, which I won't reveal, but it's just not enough to save this schmaltz.
February 14, 2013
"Safe Haven" has a good directorship pedigree in Lasse Hallstrom. But you can only do so much with a Nicholas Sparks-based premise.
February 14, 2013
Don't let your mind ask questions when you're watching Safe Haven. You'll enjoy the movie better if you don't.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Page 3 of 8