Safety Not Guaranteed - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Safety Not Guaranteed Reviews

Page 2 of 7
December 20, 2012
It may not make you walk out, but it certainly left me unsatisfied.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
December 20, 2012
With another rewrite and some more focused direction, Trevorrow could have exploited the potential in his story and provided a worthy platform for Plaza, whose deadpan lead performance is excellent.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
December 18, 2012
Plaza and Duplass are enormously watchable, and there's a sweet sadness in the movie's focus on lost dreams and missed chances, and the truism that we all long for a time machine every once in a while.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
December 8, 2012
Safety Not Guaranteed is an original worth seeking out.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
December 6, 2012
The past has never seemed so inviting as it does in Colin Trevorrow's DIY time-travel romance.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 16, 2012
From its shoestring budget to its familiar tropes, this could have been independent filmmaking at its most generic. But with its off-the-wall premise, snarky wit and heartfelt performances, it's quite the opposite: an inspired original.
November 9, 2012
A lighthearted tale that deftly mixes absurdist humor with touching moments and a real feeling of loneliness.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
November 2, 2012
How do you incorporate a science-fiction element in a low-budget indie production? For answers, see the engaging new comedy Safety Not Guaranteed...
October 19, 2012
A small, richly nuanced, engaging piece of romantic fluff with a decent sci-fi tinge that doesn't overplay its quirkiness.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 18, 2012
It is a strange and strangely appealing journey that this film takes.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 18, 2012
This is one of those films where the filmmaker takes you on an audacious journey and makes you believe every moment of it. A nice debut from Trevorrow and Connolly.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 18, 2012
The film balances the extraordinary and ordinary with great aplomb, and Duplass and Plaza give beautifully judged performances.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
October 18, 2012
It is one of those nicely-made efforts where every element sits perfectly in place, but the director is too tentative to shift them around too much. So they just sit there. The choice is yours: enjoy the stillness, or move on.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 18, 2012
It's a slight and modest flick that occasionally lapses into sentimentality, but it's original and nicely carried by the actors.
October 18, 2012
Safety Not Guaranteed has real pathos which is always a lovely counterbalance to comedy.
October 18, 2012
Content to charm our pants off rather than set our imagination on fire.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 15, 2012
It will keep you smiling and keep you guessing. It's far from the safe, formulaic comedies that usually emanate from the big studios in Hollywood.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
October 14, 2012
It's a warm, fuzzy indie and a covert sci fi triumph.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 13, 2012
Comedy, romance, sci-fi ... and wonderful whimsy, come together in this surprising film. We love surprises in our cinema, especially ones made with such heart
October 13, 2012
Each of the four central characters is quirky and flawed; what is supremely interesting is how we change our minds about them all. What begins as an oddball idea is fleshed out by way of a myriad branches, leading into different but credible directions
Page 2 of 7