Santa Sangre - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Santa Sangre Reviews

Page 1 of 28
August 31, 2017
What if Alejandro Jodorowsky made a Horror film? Well in 1989 Alejandro wrote and directed Santa Sangre. Like his other films it uses nice visuals to tackle subjects of religion, politics, poverty, etc. A lot of people say that this is just Alejandro's version of Alfred Hitchcock's Psycho, but the film is much more than that and you can tell that wasn't his main goal when making this. The ending does seem to lean on the idea that he was making his own Psycho which kinda disappointed me. Alejandro would always get some of his family members acting in his films (mostly as leads) and they work very well, but there are a few moments that Axel Jodorowsky is just over the top with his acting. Anyway it was fun to see Alejandro try to make a Horror film and he did a great job. Santa Sangre is definitely the first Jodorowsky film you wanna introduce to someone before you show them his other work.
8.5/10
August 19, 2017
Just as Alfred Hitchcock brought up mommy issues in Psycho, Alejandro Jodorowsky provides a similar insight, but with more blood, a darker tone, and the surreal moments the director is known for. It fuses more than a thousand genres and subtly hints at the religious and mystical planes far from reach by a normal human being. A casual first look could lead viewers to overlook the line between opposing evil and pleading moral ambiguity. Yet the film is quite simple enough to properly define the term "It's all fun and games until someone gets hurt."
June 9, 2017
Surreal like all of Jodorowsky's work. Haunting Simon Boswell score.
½ December 1, 2016
A surreal masterpiece
½ November 28, 2016
Santa Sangre is an inflammatory hallucinogenic descent into Alejandro Jodorowsky's finest talents of finding an unusual and special goodness amid the gore.
August 9, 2016
Santa Sangre is, at this point, Jodorowsky's best movie in my opinion. He has a knack for putting in seemingly pointless scenes, but in this film makes every scene mean something and count. The movie is a visual spectacle along with a philosophical character study resulting in an engaging, strange, and entertaining viewing experience.
½ July 6, 2016
4.5/5

As one of his last big films, Jodorowsky shows all of his talent and all of his progress when it comes to film making in general; Santa Sangre, fueled by an amazing soundtrack, is simply magnificent and charming from start to finish, and while the story is a bit too familiar, it is accesible enough and beautifully written to make it one of his best efforts in his strange and intriguing carreer.
February 3, 2016
I adored the film not for its horror, which is ample, but for its ingenious story and the seemingly boundless imagination of its creator.
January 4, 2016
I adore this movie. The first hour is slow, but the second hour is dripping with gore, intrigue, serial murder, and complete insanity. It's marvelous. A young son of circus performers witnesses his father cut off his mother's arms (amazing shot btw) and slash his own throat. Then things really go off the rails.

SANTA SANGRE is definitely an art film with long scenes that seemingly don't serve the plot - or does it really have a plot? The movie could have a plot, as the main twist is fantastic and ripe for drama, but Jodorowsky fills the film with bizarre set pieces and characters, some of which have little bearing on the heart of the story. The cast includes some gems, including three of his sons and many actual carnival performers. It's also positively gorgeous and possibly beyond words.
December 4, 2015
Our Daily Free Stream: Alejandro Jodorowsky - Santa Sangre. Eine Woche voller Jodorowsky! Unser mit Abstand am meisten verliehener Regisseur der Vor-Weihnachtszeit! Das hat doch Humor und deshalb gibts jetzt Santa Sangre, um mal reinzuschauen. Vor allem ist Santa Sangre eine Rückkehr in die wilden Tage des Kinos, als es noch skandalös und einzigartig sein durfte! Santa Sangre ist ein Film, wie ich ihn nie zuvor sah! Sehr blutig, glamorös, herrlich! Im Grunde ist Santa Sangre ein Film über das Geheimnis der Nacht. Jodorowsky kehrt zurück zu seinen Wurzeln und bietet einen zweistündigen Trip, einen Exzess für die Wahrnehmung. In Mexiko fährt Fenix umher mit dem Wanderzirkus seines Vaters. Der Vater ist ein starker Mann mit Tattoos, die Mutter eine Akrobatin am Trapez, eingehüllt in ihre Lockenmähne. Ausserdem ist sie so etwas wie die Anführerin eines geheimen Cults von Frauen, die einer Gottheit ohne Arme ergeben sind (ein Mann verletzte sie, nahm ihr die Arme). Das Blut dieser Heiligen: Santa Sangre. Während die Mutter am Trapez durch die Luft wirbelt, beobachtet sie ihren Mann, der den Zirkus mit einer anderen Frau (voller Tattoos) verlässt. Sie folgt ihm, tötet die Frau und verabreicht dem Gatten Gift. Er schneidet ihr die Arme ab und begeht schliesslich Selbstmord. Jahre später begegnenen wir dem Sohn in einer Nervenheilanstalt. Er sitzt auf einem Baum und verweigert jegliche Form von Kommunikation. Der Mutter gelingt es, ihn zurückzuholen in die Welt, wo er einem taubstummen Mädchen begegnet. Sein Weg draussen wirkt wie ein symbolischer Trip für Freudianer, denn er mutiert zum Sklaven der Mutter ohne Arme. Während sie gemeinsam in einem Nachtclub auftreten, fragt man sich allerdings, ob das nun alles tatsächlich geschieht? Diese Fragen aber wird Jodorwosky nicht für uns beantworten, stattdessen wirft er uns in den Strudel der Ereignisse, die den Film vorantreiben. Unvergesslich die Szene des Elefanten-Begräbnisses... Fenix Trip in die Stadt wird von Jodorowsky mit mongoloiden Kindern besetzt und nun befinden wir uns irgendwo zwischen Fiktion und Dokumentation. In Santa Sangre liegt das Innerste der Seele bloss. Ins Kino zu gehen, um das zu sehen, was ich schon in und auswendig kenne - das erlebe ich nicht in Santa Sangre. 18 Jahre lang hat Jodorowsky versucht, einen Film zu machen und all seine Frustration bricht in diesem Meisterwerk heraus! Ein Film voller Energie, voller Kraft, ja, Visionen! Eine Seltenheit im Kino, aber Jodorowsky ist nicht langweilig.
October 7, 2015
It's like a circus and gore version of Psycho. Beyond weird.
½ July 25, 2015
You don't know the meaning of the word bizarre until you've seen Santa Sangre. Alejandro Jodorowsky's sick, twisted and very, very bloody tale of madness, revenge and hacked-off limbs is his preferred film due to it being the only Jodorowsky him that has anything resembling a plot. Try to imagine the craziest nightmare that Salvador Dali might have had after eating a plateful of Chinese food just before bed, and it still won't come close to the sheer bonkersosity of Santa Sangre. The rules of cause and effect simply do not apply anywhere inside this particular movie universe. Santa Sangre is less a plotted story and more a movie adaptation of the mental state an Alzheimer's patient achieves on heavy doses of LSD: Not only is logic totally fucked, but nothing is even connected chronologically, and just as soon as you think you're making sense of things, it's current time your armless mother is forcing you to commit bloody murder by standing behind her and acting as her arms. This influential, freakshow of a movie strands together scenes of unsimulated bizzaros, extraordinary violence, and interactions so discomforting you can scarcely believe your eyes. The effect, akin to the most lucid, disturbing nightmare you've ever had, is enhanced by Simon Boswells otherworldly score and Daniele Nannuzzi's cinematography. If you can even call it cinematography. It's an unforgettable film, and unlike anything you've ever seen before.
June 14, 2015
Extraordinary film. Magnificent directing and mind bending story. One of the must watch classics.
May 22, 2015
My second Alejandro Jodorowsky film and it was a real treat. I did not know what to expect, except that it would be weird. Probably very weird.

We follow Fenix - portraied by another Jodorowsky, his son Axel. He is in a mental hospital since he saw some gruesome stuff done to his mother when he was younger. We are served his reasons for his issues as flashbacks, among other happenings.

Then, stories are combined and we get some sort of a film similiar to "Psycho" in way. It's not THAT weird. Well, it got a stolid story around all the madness making a bit less random at times. The horror is desguised in the absurdity and the happy circus music. Blod, guts, nutity and violence is all over, but it's almost unnoticed many times - the story feels surprizingly strong.

Not the weirdest film I have seen, but probably one the best weird-flicks out there. It's actually even a moving film. That's impressive! It evolves into someting both weirder and scarier after the first hour. Even if I like the ending, I liked the first part a lot better. The second half is jaw-droppingly varied and creative though, just as i expected it to be from the very start.

Loads of fun, great filming. It's hard to explain with words - so many things happen here - many of them very far out.

Unforgettable, surrealistic masterpiece, but certainly not a film for everyone.

8.5 out of 10 dying elephants.
May 10, 2015
Jodorowsky's most "accessible" film. It is also his most emotionally moving and almost as thought provoking as "El Topo." Perhaps not as strictly spiritual, but emotional on a very human level.
½ April 26, 2015
Weird, surreal, disturbing and humorless. If you're a fan of Nine Inch Nails you'll notice the intro to Mr Self Destruct.
March 14, 2015
In my humble opinion, the greatest metaphysical slasher film ever made. Utterly Dazzling and horrifying to behold. Jodowrsky's masterpiece.
½ March 6, 2015
Less tripping than his prior films, though his hallucinating horror approach never reaches into me. It's weird and yet not even controversial within the Jodorowsky scale.
February 22, 2015
Adiós mujer, adiós para siempre, adiós.
Page 1 of 28