Sarah Silverman: Jesus Is Magic - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Sarah Silverman: Jesus Is Magic Reviews

Page 1 of 5
April 29, 2009
It's a brutally disappointing and unfunny movie for such a hilarious woman.
August 1, 2008
Silverman's full-on approach works because she unflinchingly examines these themes with a disarming sweetness.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 1, 2008
Her comic persona is that of a clueless and politically incorrect hipster who says terrible things without being aware of their shock value. Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
August 1, 2008
By the end you'll feel like a bored parent trapped in the front row of the school play.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
August 1, 2008
Ultimately, it's difficult to resist...especially when she comes out with lines like: "I don't care if you think I'm racist - I just want you to think I'm thin."
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
August 1, 2008
Skip this one and check Sarah Silverman out on stage for real.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
August 1, 2008
Her high-wire stage performance is unmissable all the same, particularly when she's taking aim at such untouchable sacred cows as Martin Luther King. "They only mention the good stuff! He was a litterbug."
August 1, 2008
Bad-taste material, delivered with an insouciance that looks easy until you see lesser comics trying it, is what she does best: killer gags about seven-year-old lesbians and Jews killing Jesus.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 1, 2008
Hit'n'miss gags that target 9/11, rape, the Holocaust and Aids ("If God gives you Aids, I say, 'Make Lemon-Aids'!") prove that Silverman is a gifted performer but that sometimes busting taboos isn't enough in itself.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 1, 2008
It's uneven and the relationship between your sense of taste and your sense of humour will determine whether you enjoy it, but at its best, Jesus Is Magic doesn't look out of place alongside the best stand-up concert movies.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
August 1, 2008
Not to everyone's taste but her legions of internet fans won't be disappointed. Anyone who can come up with a line like 'I don't care if you think I'm a racist, I just want you to think I'm thin,' is okay in our books.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/6
June 21, 2007
The wit, the smile, the rape and holocaust jokes, they all tie together in a lovely, compelling little package called Sarah.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
March 1, 2007
There is a healthy release to be had in this address of our shared, so-often-facile Hallmark-card reverence. Humor can be the best weapon after all.
June 22, 2006
Silverman fails at what she does not because she says dirty things, but because that's all she says, and she's not very good at it.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
June 13, 2006
Silverman's raunchy pretend comedy act can't sustain its energy and humor.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
April 26, 2006
A montagem é caótica e as seqüências extra-palco são, em sua maioria, fraquíssimas. Ainda assim, a forma aparentemente inocente com que Silverman interpreta seu texto politicamente incorreto compensam estas falhas.
| Original Score: 3/5
April 6, 2006
Here, in her own vehicle, Silverman veers from the faux-naive mockery of minorities into an oncoming collision with white liberal guilt and condescension . . . stand-up [that] makes you sit and think.
February 23, 2006
Whether you think it's awesome or awful, there's no denying that 'Jesus is Magic' is sheer Silverman, a portrait of the artist as a young maniac.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
February 7, 2006
Silverman is clearly in the line of such fearless comedy forebears as Lenny Bruce and Richard Pryor. As she says at the end of this mostly hilarious movie, 'I don't care if you think I'm racist. I just want you to think I'm thin.'
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 13, 2006
... her jokes ... are often obliteratingly funny in themselves, they are compounded and deepened by the disconnect between the blackness of their substance and the pretty mouth that utters them
Read More | Original Score: B
Page 1 of 5