Sarah Silverman: Jesus Is Magic - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Sarah Silverman: Jesus Is Magic Reviews

Page 1 of 42
October 8, 2014
I love Silverman's material and delivery. This compilation overall is just a little flat.
September 13, 2014
Most of her jokes are, in fact, very very funny, but her delivery is often times awkward and ruins the potential for laughs that the joke can catch. She also doesn't seem to have the energy that makes for famous, successful comedians. Silverman's loaded with potential, and appears to already be using a little bit of it.
½ July 7, 2013
Anyone finds this movie funny has lost their sense of humor. This is a secular way of diminishing brain cells and twisted facts. How in the world anyone thinks sarah is fuuny when clearly she's not. The title should be read: Sarah Silverman: Stupid is Magically Destroying My Reputation.
March 30, 2013
I love me some Sarah Silverman!!!
Super Reviewer
½ February 26, 2013
Controversial yet extremely funny, that's why I like Sarah Silverman, the only funny Jewish comedian. Breaking the boundary and filled with taboo topics. Well crafted mockumentary.
December 27, 2012
Im not interested in the storyline.
½ December 25, 2012
Some laugh-out-loud moments, but not laugh-a-minute.
Decent way to pass some time with some mates and some drinks.
December 20, 2012
One of the more entertaining and least grotesque female stand-up comics in the business.
December 9, 2012
Sarah Silverman is one of the most consistent and irreplacable female comedians, but this concert film isn't her best work. Make no mistake, she still is able to tell really ribald jokes while coming off as cute, but the musical numbers are all disappointing, and the film has a really random feel to it that I didn't care for. Definitely worth watching on Netflix, but The Sarah Silverman program is more in tune with her voice.
½ October 31, 2012
To call Sarah Silverman irreverent is to say that grass is green, but if you have enjoyed anything else she has done, from her TV show to her book to her memorable late night talk-show appearances, then it's safe to say that you'll like her stand-up special. You may cringe a time or two, but you'll probably be laughing too hard to notice.
September 20, 2012
The sketches and most of the songs are lame but the stand-up (which comprises most of the film) is great. Sarah Silverman is one of the funniest women alive.
July 19, 2012
The only reason im giving this a 4/5 stars is because Im a fan of Sarah Silverman
July 16, 2012
Perhaps one of the best known (if not notorious) female comedians of the current era, Sarah Silverman proves how incredibly obnoxious yet ultimately funny she can be in her own film, Sarah Silverman: Jesus is Magic. A comedic movie/musical that has no clear direction and combines Silverman's stand up with a snippet of a story and random musical segments randomly inserted, this one is evidently aimed at her most devout fans and those who do not get offended too easily. Anyone not mentioned may want to avoid this one at all costs.
Whatever the story is here, it seems to revolve around Silverman (supposedly playing herself) and a live show she produces at the last minute all in one day (because she lied to her friends about starring in a sold out production and wants to make it a reality!). The best (or is it worst??) of her stand up routine is presented along with random musical numbers thrown in, spontaneously including songs aimed at making fun of politics, Jews, blacks, homosexuals and even the elderly! It all seems to be in good fun, for those who don't take it too seriously.
Silverman's intention in this production is not extremely apparent. But she certainly goes to extremes to get a good laugh out her audience, which may have been the premise all along. Indeed it has its fun moments and her fans may find it the most hilarious film since Animal House, though others may find themselves turning it off halfway through (if not sooner), especially those who do not take well to sexual humor among other things. Laura Silverman (Silverman's real life sister) can be seen playing her friend here. Why the film was given this particular title remains a mystery as the subject is only discussed briefly, though it seems to work.
June 18, 2012
sarah silverman is a good comedian. i for one get annoyed with he alot. but she was pretty funny here.
June 17, 2012
The songs bits are hit and miss, but when Silverman is doing her standup, she's at the top of her game. This is what Carlos Mencia wants to be, but fails miserably at.
½ June 14, 2012
awful sense of humor, very cocky, and she is very offensive and not in a funny way, probably one of the worst comedians i have ever listened to
April 18, 2012
Hilarious, but only if you are into her brand of comedy... don't watch this if you are after 'any other standup movie,' because you won't get it. Sarah's fans will understand. Four stars only because the filmed scenes (non-live show bits) were not all that funny. Sarah is and always has been, first and foremost, a stage comic. She should have played to her strengths more and cut the weird out of place filler scenes that do nothing for this film.
April 16, 2012
is sara silverman!!!!!!!!!!!!! a very cool comedian!!!!!!!!!!!
April 16, 2012
holy hell is this some funny stuff. she says things that i would never even DREAM of saying, let alone to the world!!!!!! i love your filthy mouth sarah!!!!
½ April 4, 2012
"I don't care if you think I'm a racist, as long as you think I'm thin."
Page 1 of 42