Scarlet Diva - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Scarlet Diva Reviews

Page 1 of 2
October 24, 2016
I definitely want to watch it again. I'm not sure exactly what I saw the first time, but I loved it.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
March 3, 2006
The cinematic equivalent of scabies ... and I mean that as a compliment.
Full Review | Original Score: B
March 26, 2004
Everyone I know who owns a camcorder has made a self-confessional, semi-autobiographical piece of videotaped wankery, but Asia Argento does it better than all of them.
Read More | Original Score: 5/5
November 7, 2002
Argento, at only 26, brings a youthful, out-to-change-the-world aggressiveness to the project, as if she's cut open a vein and bled the raw film stock.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
September 19, 2002
It's a demented kitsch mess (although the smeary digital video does match the muddled narrative), but it's savvy about celebrity and has more guts and energy than much of what will open this year.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
September 19, 2002
As home movie gone haywire, it's pretty enjoyable, but as sexual manifesto, I'd rather listen to old Tori Amos records.
September 19, 2002
This is such a dazzlingly self-assured directorial debut that it's hard to know what to praise first.
August 16, 2002
The film, while not exactly assured in its execution, is notable for its sheer audacity and openness.
August 8, 2002
Beneath the film's obvious determination to shock at any cost lies considerable skill and determination, backed by sheer nerve.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
August 8, 2002
"Argento splatters her colorful life on the screen like an adolescent's diary, trusting others to sort through the fascinating mess."
August 6, 2002
When twentysomething hotsies make movies about their lives, hard-driving narcissism is a given, but what a world we'd live in if Argento's Hollywood counterparts ... had this much imagination and nerve.
August 5, 2002
Asia authors herself as Anna Battista, an Italian superstar and aspiring directress who just happens to be her own worst enemy.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
June 25, 2005
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
May 22, 2003
| Original Score: 2/5
January 17, 2003
Amid the shock and curiosity factors, the film is just a corny examination of a young actress trying to find her way.
October 20, 2002
It's difficult to discern if this is a crazy work of disturbed genius or merely 90 minutes of post-adolescent Electra rebellion.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
September 23, 2002
A clutchy, indulgent and pretentious travelogue and diatribe against... well, just stuff. Watching Scarlet Diva, one is poised for titillation, raw insight or both. Instead, we just get messy anger, a movie as personal therapy.
Full Review | Original Score: D-
September 20, 2002
As original and insightful as last week's episode of Behind the Music.
September 1, 2002
...may work as an addictive guilty pleasure but the material never overcomes its questionable satirical ambivalence. This Scarlet's letter is A...as in aimless, arduous, and arbitrary.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
August 16, 2002
Scarlet Diva has a voyeuristic tug, but all in all it's a lot less sensational than it wants to be.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Page 1 of 2