Scarlet Diva - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Scarlet Diva Reviews

Page 1 of 5
½ January 22, 2014
This film is a classic case of Her father is a great director so naturally she will be too but isn't. Her father,Dario Argento, has In my opinion created some of the greatest horror/suspense films of all-time and so naturally his daughter would get into acting and etc like him. Also naturally I was curious about the film because of her father. After seeing the film I was..Disappointed some what....but at the same time I figured it would be bad. It's not a GOD AWFUL film but it's def. not in the same calibur as her fathers stuff. there where some interesting camera angles here and there and I will admit she went for the fences with her stuff(just like er dad) but unlike her dad where he makes it all look so...innovative and unique hers is just blan. Like I said it's not HORRIBLE but if you were hopin' to see an almost...baby Argento you're sorely mistaken.
½ February 6, 2012
Was that a lesbian rape scene? So this movie has two big signs on it: "I was directed by a first-time filmmaker!" and "I was directed by an Italian"
January 26, 2012
One of my favorite films! Daring and tragic.
January 22, 2012
I went into this one hoping for an edgy, sexy grimy film, and I got very little of any of those things, as the arty approach to the storytelling is pretty obvious, and there are some truly atrocious line-readings in here, delivery that made me wince here and there as some of the people just sound as if they're reading a menu instead of emoting.

I really wanted to like this more than I did, which makes me feel bad for the blind buy. Oh well, I guess this might be a decent rental if you have low expectations.
Super Reviewer
March 20, 2011
Very good directorial debut from Asia Argento. Look forward to seeing her other films.
½ March 2, 2011
Though Asia is attractive in a primal way, this movie is a train wreck.
The story seemed very stream of consciousness; Asia is listed as the
writer and director - don't know how much was actually written before
filming. Didn't much care for it at all. Also didn't really see the
"experimental" way in which it was supposedly filmed, unless that is
referring to the fact that it didn't seem fully scripted. There is a
bit of nudity if that is your thing, though not all of it is
titillating.
½ July 14, 2010
Marketed as a soft core flick, but its nothing of the sort. Asia Argento's semi- autobiographical directorial debut is nothing short of just plain disturbing. Well shot and well acted. Can be seen as self indulgent, but the girl had a story to tell and she did a decent job telling i and completly damning the industry she works int. WOrth a watch if a fan of hers.
October 6, 2009
A disturbing Picture about the Shattered Life and Complexe Personality of Asia Argento starring herself made by herself one of the best Movies of the Decade
April 17, 2009
asia argento güzel hos da bu film hic olmamis. film okulunda okuyup da mezun olcak olan ögrencinin cekebilcegi garip, dandik görüntülerden olusan kötü artsy filmlere benziyor. ayna karsisinda makyaj yapmasi sonra o makyajin suratta aglayarak dagilmasi.. enteresan degil. sonuna kadar izleyemedim.
March 23, 2009
Asia's tits are fantastic and steal the show. As a directorial debut it's fascinating, but as a film without any links to her dad it's nothing special. I think she has a future behind the camera, but she'd be wasted that side of it as she's still a very dynamic presence on screen. I'd rather she was doing the likes of this than XXX! Keep away from Hollywood, Asia! Please!
March 11, 2009
Erm definitely want to see this
January 25, 2009
asia naked was good enough for me:)
shesdownbytheriver
Super Reviewer
January 10, 2009
No thankyou - Not interested.
January 10, 2009
i'm a sucker for these kind of autobiographies. it wasn't amazing, but it was different enough and interesting and personal and that deserves props
December 12, 2008
Sometimes the dead should be left buried. Damn zombies, anyway.
½ November 30, 2008
quasi-autobiographical story about Asia Argento's trials and experiences being an icon in Europe and trying to direct her first film (which i guess is pretty much a boy's club in Italy).....at times good, at times not that good, but of note....
November 27, 2008
Even if I love her since so many years, I don't wanna see her 1st director's try.
November 21, 2008
How is this not a porno?
October 15, 2008
Although Asia shows she has a very creative and raw talent as a director it doesn't always pay off as sometimes it comes across a bit amateurish. However whilst there are these flaws and some of the support acting is weak it is an interesting film and Asia does shine.
½ September 19, 2008
Permeated by a self-pitying, adolescent naivete, Argento's autobiographical film has a voyeuristic tug, but all in all is a lot less sensational than it wants to be.
Page 1 of 5