Scary Movie 5 - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Scary Movie 5 Reviews

Page 1 of 3
J. Olson
April 17, 2016
Every penny that "Scary Movie V" earns is cinematic blood money, looted from the pockets of unsuspecting moviegoers.
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/5
Max Nicholson
IGN Movies
April 12, 2013
If it's even possible, Scary Movie 5 is worse than its predecessors, reaching all new heights of stupidity and fall-flat comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/10
Ben Kendrick
April 12, 2013
Scary Movie 5 is a dumbed down and hollow version of the franchise formula - resulting in an idiotic (and unamusing) attempt at parody that is tedious not fun.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Top Critic
Darren Franich
Entertainment Weekly
April 12, 2013
A film composed almost entirely of jokes that were much funnier when you read them on Twitter years ago.
Full Review | Original Score: D
Matt Donato
We Got This Covered
April 13, 2013
If I ever have to watch another Scary Movie film, I'll give up on writing, cinema, and society forever.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/10
William Bibbiani
April 12, 2013
Surely we have a responsibility to audiences in need of laughter, and surely we can do better than this.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/10
Chris Sawin
August 19, 2013
Scary Movie 5 is a reprehensible excuse of a comedy and should barely be considered a film since it's of such poor quality. They don't make a dunce cap big enough for individuals this idiotic.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/10
Henry Northmore
The List
April 18, 2013
It's crude, gross and probably wishes it was offensive but comes across as just lazy, limp and unfunny.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Mark Ellis
Schmoes Know
April 12, 2013
Another pointless exercise that only served to make me deeply examine why comedy was ever funny. Next time, I'd rather just laugh.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Kristian Harloff
Schmoes Know
April 12, 2013
Even if you chuckle occasionally at this, it's hard to see how anyone would want to pay to see it.
Full Review | Original Score: .5/5
Jenny Casablancas
FILMINK (Australia)
April 9, 2013
It says a lot about the film that the only half-laughs to be had come from Charlie Sheen and Lindsay Lohan.
Simon Miraudo
August 15, 2013
Railing against Scary Movie V for diminishing the series' standards would be as effective as criticising Brooke Hogan for disgracing her proud family name. And yet, the fifth instalment of the Scary Movie franchise does do that.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Top Critic
Stephanie Merry
Washington Post
April 12, 2013
Scary Movie 5 must be some kind of psychological experiment. Perhaps the filmmakers sat in a lab, rubbing their temples while wondering aloud how awful they could make a movie and still score at the box office.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/4
Teddy Durgin
Screen It!
April 12, 2013
I have been to funerals a LOT less sad than this laughless 85 minutes. (Complete Content Details for Parents also available)
Roger Moore
Movie Nation
April 12, 2013
These movies grow shorter and less funny by the year.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Alonso Duralde
April 12, 2013
This is the sort of movie where you feel bad for Sheen and Lohan, because they hadn't actually hit rock bottom until they agreed to appear in it.
Tim Grierson
Screen International
April 12, 2013
The "Scary Movie" franchise has never been known for its highbrow comedy, but this latest installment feels especially juvenile and pointless.
Top Critic
Laremy Legel
April 12, 2013
A hate crime against cinema, a ringing indictment of the depths commercialism will go to in search of the lowest common denominator.
Full Review | Original Score: .5/10
Kam Williams
April 14, 2013
This vapid, vulgar insult to the intelligence couldn't possibly have been tested on any focus groups. Can we all now agree that we've reached the cinematic saturation point with the rapidly-expiring, Scary Movie franchise?
Full Review | Original Score: 0/4
Eric D. Snider
July 12, 2013
A boldly uninspired torrent of halfhearted slapstick, interminable poop jokes, and pointless pop-culture references, a veritable tsunami of idiocy.
Page 1 of 3