Scatter My Ashes At Bergdorf's - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Scatter My Ashes At Bergdorf's Reviews

Page 2 of 3
May 17, 2013
Ridiculously reverential...a love letter to the famously upscale New York department store, lacking any critical sense.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
May 17, 2013
Yes, the store has managed to attract big spenders for more than a century, but the film reveals that there is as much richness in good anecdote as a painstakingly conceived window vignette.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
May 16, 2013
Piles on the designers and insiders, making no lasting impression other than to spark musings on the folly of excess.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
May 16, 2013
This is an infomercial disguised as mildly entertaining cinema.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
May 16, 2013
As detached from the real world in 2013 as a primer on how to choose the best-tasting caviar.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/4
May 14, 2013
A feature-length video promo piece positioned as a documentary, pure infomercial/advertorial.
May 11, 2013
Stunning fashion documentary, joining the ranks of 'Diana Vreeland: The Eye Has to Travel,' 'Valentino: The Last Emperor,' 'The Tents,' 'The September Issue,' etc.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
May 9, 2013
[Prefers] to polish the marble of the block-long Bergdorf Goodman store rather than look past it. Still, for die-hards, peeking into back halls and hearing the dish will satisfy.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
May 6, 2013
It's like a vanity project for - well, who, exactly? I could barely sit through the whole film; I can't imagine wandering the aisles of this puffed-up emporium.
May 6, 2013
Jumps skittishly from subject to subject, disjointed and repetitive for all but dyed-in-the-wool fashionistas.
May 5, 2013
Shallow, tedious and, worst of all, boring.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.0/10
May 3, 2013
An obnoxious documentary asking us to bow down in homage to a temple of the very rich where conspicuous consumerism is worshipped.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/5
May 3, 2013
There's so much material that's amusing, and so much goodwill for Bergdorf in the hearts of fashion lovers, that it's a shame this is such an ADD sprawl of a movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 3, 2013
[A] glossy, fawning valentine to conspicuous consumption ...
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
May 2, 2013
...even in my anticipation I could not have realized how entertaining this is, clearly one of the most entertaining films of the year.
Full Review | Original Score: 10/10
May 2, 2013
Though partly funded by one of the descendants of the store's founder, director Matthew Miele has made a lively, clever, fast-moving film that isn't overly reverential about its subject.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
May 2, 2013
The energy in "Scatter My Ashes at Bergdorf's"-what a great title!-is genuine, infectious and superabundant.
May 2, 2013
Granted, not every documentary is necessarily required to dig up dirt and say awful things, but the overbearing gush gets tiresome.
May 2, 2013
Fashionistas will kvell over this paean to the Mecca of Materialism.
May 2, 2013
You don't have to be in vogue to enjoy this stylish ride through Bergdorf's. It's a surprise package to die for.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Page 2 of 3