Scatter My Ashes At Bergdorf's - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Scatter My Ashes At Bergdorf's Reviews

Page 1 of 3
June 27, 2014
Close to hagiography-but who cares when faced with such an entertaining valentine as this.
March 3, 2014
No, it's not hard-hitting journalism about retail fashion or conspicuous consumption. It's more like a graceful authorized biography of an institution.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
September 18, 2013
Fawning, but fun and fashion forward.
September 3, 2013
...works both as a large format infommercial for the store and a Rorschach for those of us with our noses pressed against those windows, watching the elaborate working displays of decorator David Hoey. Are we amused or envious?
Full Review | Original Score: 87/100
August 22, 2013
For lovers of fashion who think of designers as Greek gods, and Bergdorf's as their Olympus.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
May 31, 2013
Much of the window dressing has gone out of fashion. It's nice to revisit it here.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
May 30, 2013
As a sociological exercise, it's like another culture. As a film, it's like science fiction, a visit to Planet Obscenely Wealthy. It is weirdly compelling.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 23, 2013
A fascinating doc that accurately captures the luster of the venerated fashion mecca and shows why Bergdorf's has become an American institution ...
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 23, 2013
A gloriously gilded wonderland - the stuff of dreams, on view for everyone.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
May 23, 2013
It's entertaining, but it might be more pleasingly watched with a fast-forward button.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
May 17, 2013
Yes, the store has managed to attract big spenders for more than a century, but the film reveals that there is as much richness in good anecdote as a painstakingly conceived window vignette.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
May 14, 2013
A feature-length video promo piece positioned as a documentary, pure infomercial/advertorial.
May 11, 2013
Stunning fashion documentary, joining the ranks of 'Diana Vreeland: The Eye Has to Travel,' 'Valentino: The Last Emperor,' 'The Tents,' 'The September Issue,' etc.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
May 9, 2013
[Prefers] to polish the marble of the block-long Bergdorf Goodman store rather than look past it. Still, for die-hards, peeking into back halls and hearing the dish will satisfy.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
May 2, 2013
...even in my anticipation I could not have realized how entertaining this is, clearly one of the most entertaining films of the year.
Full Review | Original Score: 10/10
May 2, 2013
Though partly funded by one of the descendants of the store's founder, director Matthew Miele has made a lively, clever, fast-moving film that isn't overly reverential about its subject.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
May 2, 2013
The energy in "Scatter My Ashes at Bergdorf's"-what a great title!-is genuine, infectious and superabundant.
May 2, 2013
Fashionistas will kvell over this paean to the Mecca of Materialism.
May 2, 2013
You don't have to be in vogue to enjoy this stylish ride through Bergdorf's. It's a surprise package to die for.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
May 2, 2013
This glossy doc is indisputably attractive, with lots of famous faces, amusing stories and stunning clothes to admire.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Page 1 of 3