Scott Pilgrim vs. the World - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Scott Pilgrim vs. the World Reviews

Page 2 of 13
January 10, 2011
Scott Pilgrim is a film where youth is power and power is music, video games, and confronting your exes with how great your current hook up is, but like most hipsters you meet, it is more impressed with itself than anything else
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
December 22, 2010
Proving that the geek shall inherit the earth ... cinema's über-nerd Michael Cera [takes] on all comers in the quest for the girl of his dreams.
December 21, 2010
An almost overwhelming barrage of quirks, the adventures of Scott Pilgrim come at you at a million miles a minute but you won't mind because it's so damn entertaining.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 29, 2010
Essentially amounts to a case of what could have been.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 10, 2010
Scott Pilgrim is refreshing in its lack of pretension and lack of smirking hipster irony. Instead we get something sweet, genuine, and dazzlingly well made.
November 8, 2010
Visually daring, ingenuous and extremely entertaining, Scott Pilgrim is virtually flawless.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
November 8, 2010
An interesting statement on modern youths detachment from actual human emotions through the advent of technology...
November 3, 2010
Not only one of the funniest movies of the summer; its utilization of over-the-top special effects unintentionally puts it up there in the action-blockbuster category it so archly parodies.
October 21, 2010
[It's] the funniest, most furiously action packed film of the year; one certain to be beloved by all the boys and girls who share the same passions and foibles as its foolish hero (myself included).
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
September 28, 2010
Video games taught a generation to fight for what you want
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
September 24, 2010
Some might see it as a great hipster parable, a postmodern epic for the Nintendo generation; I think it's simply a triumph of dizzying cinematic style, and it never misses a beat.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
September 5, 2010
Maybe with a different lead actor and about 20 minutes of running time chopped from it, I might have enjoyed it more. Instead I laughed through parts, but was never emotionally drawn into any of it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 5, 2010
Fitfully entertaining and sometimes brilliantly silly — just not really engaging, and occasionally objectionable.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
September 2, 2010
I can only say that where some see shallowness, I saw a witty interplay of surfaces and style.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 2, 2010
This movie is like the entirety of American youth culture crammed into a single package: It's about love, alienation, video games, comic books, chord-grinding indie/punk rock, texting, dead-end jobs and evil ex-boyfriends.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
September 1, 2010
This one's geek heaven, a mash-up of comic books, computer games, grunge rock and slacker drama, all a little quicker and droller than anything of the kind before.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 30, 2010
One of the more audacious and creatively conceived movies of the year though, at 32, I felt a bit too old for it.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 30, 2010
A film you either love or hate. I didn't love it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
August 27, 2010
Some of us always knew playing video games was cool. Now, thanks to Scott Pilgrim, everyone else does too.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
August 27, 2010
The bombardment lasts for almost two hours and by the end of the film, we feel almost as exhausted as the characters.
Page 2 of 13