Scott Pilgrim vs. the World - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Scott Pilgrim vs. the World Reviews

Page 1 of 13
April 12, 2013
Like the special effects, the characters are sketched out in tiresome cinematic shorthand, as if to reassure the viewer that this joyride really isn't worth thinking too hard about.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.9/10
August 13, 2010
... the only real purpose the film could serve is as a kind of cultural litmus test - to winnow out those who don't get it.
Full Review | Original Score: 71/100
August 27, 2010
The bombardment lasts for almost two hours and by the end of the film, we feel almost as exhausted as the characters.
September 5, 2010
Maybe with a different lead actor and about 20 minutes of running time chopped from it, I might have enjoyed it more. Instead I laughed through parts, but was never emotionally drawn into any of it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 13, 2010
The audience is simply not part of the process. The movie has done all the thinking for you, and by not letting itself breathe, you're excluded from an emotional reaction.
August 11, 2010
To win her, he needs to duel her ex-boyfriends in fantasy sequences based on video games. Oh, great.
August 21, 2010
Also versus coherence, versus maturation, versus real emotion...
August 12, 2010
"Scott Pilgrim" devotes itself so firmly to re-creating the look of O'Malley's saga that it forces and fumbles the feel, full of (indie-rock) sound and (kung-fu) fury, (emotionally) signifying nothing.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/5
July 23, 2010
This is a discouragingly limp movie where nothing is at stake.
August 13, 2010
If a picture as gleefully vapid as this is what passes for a 'generational milestone' in 2010, we're in trouble.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
August 20, 2010
Scott Pilgrim vs. the World is a film full of sound and fury signifying WTF. It's slick shtik.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
August 26, 2010
It's a string of scenes, it's a blur of faces, it's a heaving great two-hour maelstrom of noise and punching. But it's not a proper movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 16, 2010
Scott Pilgrim vs. the World or its alternate title, "Dude, Where's My Attention Span?"
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 11, 2010
When you're 45 minutes into a two-hour film and you've only met two exes, you can't help but start calculating how quickly the rest will be apportioned.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
August 18, 2010
She has too many exes. They should have stopped at four, because it just means these repetitive fights that are the same and they're all unbelievable and it becomes extremely tedious.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
August 13, 2010
Cast anyone else in the lead role and it might work. I assume the Scott Pilgrim of the graphic novels is actually masculine and has all the correct and working body parts.
Full Review | Original Score: .5/5
August 20, 2010
For those out of the loop, or too far removed from these characters' headspace, the inventiveness of the film's execution alone is not enough.
August 11, 2010
Ignores the very charisma of the source material to mold something one-note and glossy...clip reel of console carnage, more tuned into surface delights than treating O'Malley's material with the sincerity and breadth it deserves.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
August 7, 2010
Scott Pilgrim is a young guy who has a serious identity crisis. And so does this movie. Which can't seem to decide whether it's a flippant sketchy teen angst weepie, or your basic flamboyant movietoon..
August 13, 2010
I tried to love it. But after 20 minutes, I sensed I was intruding on the movie's love affair with itself.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Page 1 of 13