Searching - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Searching Reviews

Page 1 of 9
August 30, 2018
The script is littered with twists and McGuffins. Shallow, humourless and overloaded with computer-y jargon, Searching barely merits a click.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
September 2, 2018
The film doesn't understand what mode it wants to operate in; serious thriller with emotional stakes or contrived, cynical satire.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
July 27, 2018
Imagine if Up and Unfriended had a baby. But a stupid, ugly baby starring John Cho.
June 21, 2018
The online world becomes a narrative device to frame a conventional mystery that slips into abject ludicrousness as the story unravels.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
August 31, 2018
Cho, Messing, and La are excellent actors who are offered almost nothing to work with.
August 31, 2018
Some nice moves but as shallow as YouTube celebrity.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
July 30, 2018
As nimble as Aneesh Chaganty is in presenting his main character's multi-faceted interaction with technology in the first hour, the film suddenly morphs into a generic and manipulative missing-person thriller.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 30, 2018
Wasting a decent performance from John Cho as the desperate father of a missing teen, this film never commits to a cogent reason why it had to be told in such a way.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
August 30, 2018
In the end, the technique feels like a red herring designed to distract attention from how corny the story really is.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 23, 2018
The movie might work better if the psychological puzzle tucked inside it were more engaging or surprising. But as the pieces fall into place, in a clunky resolution, the story turns as flat as the screens that contain it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 31, 2018
Searching is so smart about how we interact with computers that it's surprising how lame it is about moviemaking basics like characters and plot.
August 29, 2018
A missing-person thriller that holds your attention for awhile simply because of the unusual way it's told, but by the end it's literally gone over a cliff into narrative absurdity.
Full Review | Original Score: C
August 31, 2018
It's possible this movie might work better streamed on your own laptop, as the windows-within-windows effect gets multiplied.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
September 2, 2018
Chaganty's style is fresh and contemporary, relevant and slick.
August 30, 2018
I really liked this movie and I think that one of the reasons I liked it is because they took the format and applied to a mystery.
August 26, 2018
A refreshing perspective to its genre with a gratifying performance by John Cho.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 13, 2018
It was just very interesting how they shot it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
August 24, 2018
Chaganty and the team behind Searching have made something quite spectacular. A near-perfectly paced, thrilling drama, and a captivating performance from John Cho.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 6, 2018
It's not preachy at all... but it is making this statement about social media... the movie captures a lot of ugly moments that we become familiar with.
August 28, 2018
We become lost within the frame. We suspend our disbelief not to see a film on a screen, but a film framed to a screen.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Page 1 of 9