Secret Ceremony - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Secret Ceremony Reviews

Page 1 of 2
May 25, 2015
While this is not a good movie, it has an odd psycho-sexual undertone that makes it surprisingly interesting.
½ February 6, 2013
This movie was dark and somewhat disturbing yet alluring and involving unlike one I have seen in a long time. Taylor again seems extremely well suited to this role; prostitute who plays mother to mentally disturbed girl (Farrow in a chilling and at times annoying performance). The two find in each other what each has lost. The two spend their days in the lavish and isolated mansion eating in bed and play acting with one another.

It is not until Taylor's character learns the true extent of Cenci's mental disturbance that the film is thrown in a different direction. Cenci snaps out of her delusion and the two part ways, that is until the chilling conclusion.

This film surprised me, it's slow moving and intense and lingers in your mind after viewing. It's simple, both in plot and setting. The simplicity helps the believability of these two characters clinging to each other as they have nothing else. Highly recommend to anyone who is a Taylor fan or those interested in psychological thrillers, it's quite brilliant in its own way.
½ December 30, 2012
This is one of the worst movies ever made. Atrocious on every conceivable level.
September 30, 2012
Elizabeth Taylor is intriguing as a slightly overweight prostitute. Despite those flaws, her beauty is still beyond compare. I dare anyone to pull off purple velvet the way she can! Robert Mitchum's character makes your skin crawl. Mia farrow is just scary! The story unfolds in an old gothy British mansion. This film was made in 1968, but plays like a Tim Burton film. Lots of black and mood. Not a feel good film, but I was completely entertained. Love Taylor's line---"What happened to the mouse that fell into the glass of milk? He kept paddling, until in the morning he was sitting on top of butter!" Dark-edged melodrama.
August 1, 2011
Ugh... It started because I could relate with the desperate need for a mother and, therefore, felt a connection with Mia Farrow's character--as well as with Liz Taylor's desire to regain a mother-daughter bond. Then, despite hesitation early on, i stuck with it for the opulent settings and because there was hope that this cast and budget would pull through to deliver. It didn't: weird, illogical, depressing, demented, perverted and, of course, a huge waste of time and 1960's film footage.
April 12, 2011
1st time i iked mia farrow ever. not too much though
mitchum oke
blank
April 5, 2011
A superbly strange psychodrama from director Joseph Losey. Excellent performances - particularly from a beguiling Mia Farrow and Robert Mitchum at his sardonic best - and an eerie, absorbing atmosphere of restrained intensity. One of Losey's very best, and a true classic that deserves to be better known.
½ April 3, 2011
Now this--THIS--is a weird movie.
½ April 2, 2011
Blarg. This disjoined, attempt at sinister melodrama wasn't even good for camp value. Just maddening.
½ April 1, 2011
R.I.P. Elizabeth Taylor (part 3). I hadn't seen this one before, no wonder, it's a bit too much for 1970's/80's television and it hasn't that classic touch for film club repertoire (where I saw the weirdest movies of my childhood). Basic psychological thriller, very 60's, the soundtrack is hilariously dated, small ensemble, like a stage play, slow, almost dreamlike. Not bad but forgettable.
½ March 23, 2011
Wednesday, March 23, 2011

(1968) Secret Ceremony
PSYCOLOGICAL HORROR

Gothic horror film which involves young wealthy aimless heiress(Mia Farrow) getting involved with a much older prostitute (Elizabeth Taylor) who thinks is her long lost mother! Robert Mitchum also stars as the actual neglected father! The characters all seem to outshine more than the script deserves but still a fascinating character study nonetheless!

3 out of 4
½ August 6, 2010
This movie feels like a waste of talent. A strange story that doesn't really require a whole lot of dialogue or acting.
½ October 19, 2009
This si truly one of the weirdest movie I've seen with legendary superstars: Elizabeth Taylor as a disturbed hooker in search of her dead daughter. Mia Farrow as an insane heiress many time abused by her stepfather (played by Robert Mitchum) and in search of her recently dead mother and living with Taylor in her London gigantic family Manor a twisted mother-daughter fake relationship that will lead to a tragic end...
½ August 8, 2009
Elizabeth Taylor as a poor aging prostitute who "befriends" an emotionally fragile young hieress (Farrow) with some serious Mommy issues. Posh art-deco architecture and steamy sex scenes (possibly a lesbian scene, depending on your perspective), combined with intense dialogue and melodrama make this a fun, disturbing flick.
½ June 11, 2009
A truly bizarre B-movie best left to die-hard Liz Taylor or Mia Farrow fans.
½ February 1, 2009
This is one of the worst movies ever made. Atrocious on every conceivable level.
½ September 7, 2008
good later years stuff
August 18, 2008
Great movie, super creepy.
Page 1 of 2