Secret Things - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Secret Things Reviews

Page 1 of 3
July 2, 2004
Soft-core cornography.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
January 9, 2004
Tawdry, derailed, intellectualized melodrama -- the desperately French equivalent of an early-'90s, straight-to-vid Joan Severance title...
Full Review | Original Score: C-
April 9, 2004
With plenty of girl-on-girl action, this is the movie that photographer David Hamilton would love to make.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
November 30, 2004
I wouldn't entirely dismiss it, but I would be reluctant to say I found too much about it that warmed my heart and appeased my soul.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
August 26, 2005
Brisseau's filmmaking style is artful and clever ... so it's a pity when he begins to wallow in corny moralising and operatic excesses.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
January 30, 2004
Gets more operatically farcical (most of it unintentionally so) by the minute.
February 6, 2004
It plays rather like a humorless version of Barbara Stanwyck's tongue-in-cheek classic, Baby Face.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
February 26, 2004
[The movie] collapses under the weight of its own artsiness.
March 16, 2004
You couldn't nail a particular kind of modern French film better if you tried: explicit sex, bad behavior, and shrieking pretention all in one lumpy shock-the-bourgeoisie package.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
May 14, 2004
A lot of sexy stuff wrapped in an obvious morality tale with some philosophical hooey and clunky symbols thrown in to justify the cheap, but undeniable, thrills.
Read More | Original Score: C+
February 13, 2004
Culminates in a quasi-philosophical orgy of pretense and trashy would-be kicks that takes its rightful place among the worst movies I have ever seen.
Full Review | Original Score: .5/5
January 17, 2004
An overheated melodrama that plays like an art-house version of the gloriously awful Wild Orchid.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
January 17, 2004
The movie is limp-loined and lame-brained.
April 29, 2004
Either a highly erotic art film trading in sex, power and morality, or a trashy porno pretending to be deep. After watching two hours of hot young French women having sex with men, each other and themselves, I have to go with the latter.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
March 19, 2004
Deteriorates into a silly farce that lands somewhere between Kubrick's Eyes Wide Shut and Guccione's Caligula.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 13, 2004
Ridiculous and pretentious and just plain nutty
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
February 20, 2004
Second-rate soft-core porn with art-house pretentions.
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
April 9, 2004
There comes a moment in all truly terrible movies when you sense that you couldn't possibly be co-existing on the same planet as the filmmakers.
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
January 30, 2004
For its first half, Secret Things is a tolerably silly lark ... Yet as Christophe's role expands -- and the soundtrack's classical flourishes become more strident -- the film's plausibility plummets.
February 19, 2004
Secret Things loses that narrative midway through.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Page 1 of 3