Secret Window - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Secret Window Reviews

Page 1 of 8
March 16, 2004
Unfortunately, an attention-grabbing visual style and compelling performances across the board cannot overcome what's lacking in story.
March 12, 2004
All the corn pone in Mississippi can't make this go down like anything but year-old grits.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
March 11, 2004
There are a couple of tingly reveals and creepy fake-outs, but it's just too familiar. John Shooter tells Morty that his story needs a better ending. So does this movie.
Read More | Original Score: C
December 28, 2010
It all feels recycled and re-recycled.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
March 11, 2004
Entertaining at first, but falls apart once its secret is revealed.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
March 11, 2004
Telegraphs its intentions too early and relies too much on a single actor, Johnny Depp, to achieve its emotional force.
May 4, 2005
Depp's ... wonderfully frazzled portrait of seething resentment almost makes this minor thriller seem fresh.
March 14, 2005
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
March 11, 2004
For all its technical prowess, it can't shake the feeling that we've seen this all before... and that it was probably better the first time.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
March 11, 2004
Pitched between horror and comedy, Secret Window turns out to be neither terribly scary nor especially funny.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
April 24, 2004
Full Review | Original Score: C-
March 11, 2004
The rising dread is hobbled by a huge impediment: The story doesn't make a lick of sense.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
March 16, 2004
The plot certainly has possibilities, but far too many of them are botched by writer-director David Koepp, who's a better writer than director.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
March 13, 2004
...[a] stylish but hampered frightfest. There's a questionable routine draft that blows through this particular defective Window...notoriously derivative and repetitive.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
April 29, 2009
Johnny Depp is the saving grace of a sub-par, often boring mystery film with a spirited performance.
March 11, 2004
'Secret Window' is essentially a one-man show for Johnny Depp to strut his stuff.
December 27, 2007
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
March 19, 2004
Except for Depp's performance, "Secret Window" is a film we've seen and heard before.
Full Review| Original Score: 2/4
March 11, 2004
The movie can only skate so far on Depp's charisma and a handful of gleefully bent internal monologues. It has no fun in winding to its oafish, obvious conclusion.
Full Review| Original Score: 1.5/4
March 11, 2004
Call me picky, but I need my thrillers to thrill me.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Page 1 of 8