Secretary - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Secretary Reviews

Page 1 of 8
December 19, 2002
Anybody remember Shannon Tweed?
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
August 7, 2002
Secretary is a love story in very much the same way that Schindler's List is a comedy.
September 20, 2002
A fairy tale romance wrapped within the fantasia of sadomasochistic games, Steven Shainberg's Secretary takes devious routes only to arrive at an old-fashioned finale.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
October 6, 2002
...it wasn't the subject matter that ultimately defeated the film...It was the unfulfilling, incongruous, "wait a second, did I miss something?" ending.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
December 2, 2002
The film was cute and well-acted and tastefully directed and its humor well-placed, but it went nowhere with its muted story.
Full Review | Original Score: C
December 8, 2002
Even as the stakes are raised in Secretary's sexual give and take, the movie retains its detached, private mood.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
September 26, 2002
I found the movie a bit of a bore.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
September 27, 2002
It provokes nothing but yawns, and the sex it explores is stuff everybody knows about and says, 'So what?'
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
October 10, 2002
Self-serious and ultimately pedestrian satire.
September 26, 2002
An edgy, cleverly written indie that simply derails shortly before the final stretch.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
September 24, 2002
Secretary [is] about as compelling as a Corn Flakes commercial.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 10, 2003
Secretary operates on a level devoid of any plausibility or satisfaction. It's cold, overly-calculated, tasteless and meaningless in nearly every way possible.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
October 11, 2002
A movie about kinks shouldn't be this ponderous or slow.
July 25, 2002
The film treats the subject of S&M with a kind of confused interest worthy of Madonna.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
May 6, 2003
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 25, 2002
The one thing that's consistently involving in Secretary is Maggie Gyllenhaal as the secretary.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
November 20, 2002
Ughhh! Can we please give the 50's a rest?
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
September 20, 2002
Secretary is a piffle. I didn't hate it. And I wouldn't have been upset if the film had broken and the last 30 minutes were forever lost to me.
October 2, 2002
The screenplay ... oversimplifies aspects of Lee and Mr. Grey's relationship while unnecessarily complicating others.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
September 14, 2002
It's a movie for guys who secretly want to spank their secretaries into submission and for women who wish their guys would treat them nastier.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Page 1 of 8