Seizure (Queen of Evil) (Tango macabre) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Seizure (Queen of Evil) (Tango macabre) Reviews

Page 1 of 1
½ January 19, 2014
Terrible. So bad it is sort of worth it though. Herve Villechaize terrorizes a party of well to do losers including the guy who played Barnabas Collins on 70's TV. Soundtrack has some moments crossing classic porn music and Throbbing Gristle.
½ November 7, 2013
This movie is a little bit hard to describe. It's about a writer who is plagued by nightmares and during a supposed weekend get together at his lake house, three villains from his dream come to life. They wreak havoc on the writer's mind and the people staying for the weekend. There's a big twist at the end which I did like because it made some of what I saw make sense, but that didn't still answer some of the questions I still have. This may need a 2nd or 3rd viewing.

What got me to finally get around to watching this was Oliver Stone. This was his very first movie and it shows. It's not his best by far, but it's nice to see where he started from and there were some interesting moments. The acting was good, but I think the casting of Herve Villechaize (who played on Fantasy Island) made this movie look more like a comedy then a horror movie. Seeing a little midget running around with a knife just isn't very threatening to me.

Still there were some interesting moments and the ending was a nice twist.
½ August 7, 2012
By far Stones least impressive effort.
October 31, 2011
Premier film d'OLIVER STONE, film d'horreur psychedelique absolument introuvable, ce SEIZURE vaut pour la curiosite, est super flippant de kitschitude absolue et possede un ou deux bons acteurs qui font mouche. A voir pour la curiosite.
October 12, 2008
Oliver Stone's first film is an unlikely beginning to one of the most impressive filmmaking careers in history.
July 24, 2007
Oliver Stone's first film. It sucks. It was followed by 'The Hand' which also sucked. Only reason to watch this is if you are an Oliver Stone fan and wanted to see what he did before Platoon. But, even then, it's still not worth it.
½ June 14, 2007
I'm rating this movie as 'Ice Queen' because Flixter apparently doesn't have it.
It's a hilarious comedy and is definitely worth a watch.
½ March 14, 2004
Yes that's right, you have read correctly this is Oliver Stone's Directorial Debut, his first film is this horror
film from 1974 called "Seizure" which stars Jonathan Frid
best known as Barnabas Collins from "Dark Shadows" as
a trouble writer who keeps having nightmares that monsters
are killing him.

As cheesy as that sounds the movie is surprisingly pretty
good. The movie starts out with Frid as Edmund Blackstone
awaking from another nightmare. Blackstone tells his
wife about it, and then tries it to put it beside him.
He then has a getogether with friends and family where
the monsters in his sleep come to life and come to kill
him and his guests....


The demons in this case are composed of "The Jackal"
(Henry Baker), "The Spider" played by well known
actor Hervé Villechaize (Tatoo from Fantasy Island)
and "Queen of Evil" (played by sexy actress
(Martine Beswick), so thus we have the Trio of
Darkness.

If you watch any Oliver Stone flick, they are all
dark and moody and they probably have their origins
in "Seizure" which is very dark and moody. However,
we do have the interesting visuals we come to expect
from Stone and the fact that this movie was made in
1970's tells you it was going to be bizzare. Thrown
in with the suspense is eroticism with "Queen of Evil"
and a couple of bloody scenes.

Frid is really believable as Edmund Blackstone and it's
surprising to see him play someone normal since
we are accustomed to seeing him as the EvIL Vampire.

The performance from the Trio of Darkness are equally as
good, Hervé Villechaize, shows that for someone who is
small can act, and Miss Beswick is great too, as she
takes pleasure in killing her victims.

Overall, I would highly recommended you seek out "Seizure",
it lays the groundwork directing for Stone and you'll
see why he is a great director, I find it strange though
that noneone has interviewed Stone about it since
this is his first film. Furthermore, this is one of
those great out of print movies (like "The little Girl
who lives down the lane" ) which hasn't been transferred for the dvd, for the fact that the vhs prints themselves
are hard to find.
Page 1 of 1