Senna - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Senna Reviews

Page 1 of 6
August 10, 2011
There is simply not enough material to make a compelling movie, even though Mr. Kapadia appears to have used every last frame of footage from the Formula One archives.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
September 15, 2011
There's no doubt Senna was a great driver, but this competently executed highlights reel doesn't tell us much beyond that.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
August 18, 2011
"Senna" is a documentary that does the job it sets out to do. I wish it had tried for more.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 11, 2011
If you're a fan of Formula One, you'll enjoy seeing this footage on the big screen, but unlike the great sports documentaries (Hoop Dreams, When We Were Kings), this one offers little to those not already versed in the subject.
August 26, 2011
I simply didn't care about it, and unless you already know who Senna is and are curious to know more, I doubt if you will, either.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
August 12, 2011
My interest in watching men drive machines in ovals is limited, and in this documentary the title character mostly comes across as an uninteresting dope.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 18, 2011
Racing absolutely takes skill and knowledge, but Senna doesn't say anything about what made Senna so brilliant at driving fast in a circle.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
August 12, 2011
A compelling story still to be told, but political maneuvering within the sport and the one-upsmanship, technological tinkering, corner-cutting, negligence or cheating that possibly caused Senna's death, are hinted at but given short shrift.
August 9, 2011
Director Kapadia needed to find a way to make Senna's story meaningful to viewers who aren't interested in Senna, cars or racing. No such luck.
March 14, 2016
An engrossing, nerve-wracking and beautifully crafted examination of a sporting hero, Kapadia's documentary is a must-see.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
August 16, 2011
Racing emerges as both central and somehow irrelevant, a conduit for a tale of a man struggling to achieve some sort of grace, and crashes that could easily belong to a rubbernecking TV show are instead loaded with tragic significance.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
September 4, 2011
Even those with no interest in Formula One - and I count myself amongst such people - will be captivated by this phenomenal motion picture.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
November 25, 2011
While this documentary is unreeling, we're definitely along for the ride. But there's no aftertaste, except for that of burnt metal.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
June 3, 2011
There are some nail-biting in-car point of view shots as the drivers career around circuits at high speed. We're used to seeing similar footage on our TV screens every race day but on the big screen you get a real feeling of the speed these guys reach.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 1, 2011
A hauntingly beautiful piece of cinema, this is an action film, sports documentary and tragedy all in one.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 9, 2011
Captivating, chilling, and surprisingly sublime.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
January 25, 2012
If we define a classic documentary by its ability to transcend niche subject matter and engage all audiences, then the exhilarating and unbelievable Senna is one of cinema's recent best.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
August 17, 2011
[Senna's] is a compelling and human story, albeit a tragic one. There's no need for it to be sugar-coated for it to remain inspiring.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
August 19, 2011
Most interesting for the way its construction builds on the inherent austerity of auto racing.
August 16, 2011
You've never seen anything like Senna, partly because the footage is 100% authentic. Not one piece of fakery was added, not even new talking heads.
| Original Score: A
Page 1 of 6