Séraphin: un homme et son péché (Heart of Stone) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Séraphin: un homme et son péché (Heart of Stone) Reviews

Page 1 of 2
October 31, 2013
A very pretentious and melodramatic film that takes a good novel ,and butchers it to the point of pointing out all the subtleties and removing everything that was obvious. It's a soap opera with no style, class, or intelligence whatsoever. The actors of course do the best they can with a terrible script and so does the director. However, the score is award-worthy. The script is so muddled between criticizing avarice,the troubles of arranged marriage, and a character portrait of a wounded character. It takes away from Canadian cinema although box-office numbers say otherwise even though the actor and the score deserve so much better.
January 12, 2011
Tragedy set in the Quebec Laurentians. Solid acting especially from Pierre Lebeau and Karine Vanasse. Main problem is the weak screen adaptation of the original novel. The writers ought to have studied the screen adaptation of Jean de Floret to extract the essential elements of tragedy. Some interesting cinematography but the sound track was to sappy to be effective. Fight scene in the forest was the most realistic I've seen in a while - the director understands that getting punched in the face actually hurts and causes damage. Overall - 2.5 stars
November 17, 2010
A screen adaption about an uscrupulous man using his wealth to dominate a small community town in Québec. The pace of this film was slow and not quite gripping.
October 8, 2010
This movie was the best of all time. It was so touching and heartbreaking. Great acting work.
June 28, 2009
Realisation touchante de Charles Biname, avec une approche beaucoup plus approfondie au niveau de la psychologie des personnages, que le film des années 50.
May 15, 2009
Nice version of a classic... lots of good actors!
January 22, 2009
well another movie i was forced to see at school, and altouhgt i wasn't to convenient about watching it i've gotta admit it really was good and i almost shed a tear near the end. it's another one of thes movies that shows how life can be cruel and i love those movies because they are so true...
December 27, 2008
Such a heartbreaking movie, but it was sooo beautiful!! Really great love story. The music was so nice too!
October 21, 2008
I own it, so I might as well see it once.
July 24, 2008
Je l`ai aimé beaucoup. J`aime les belles fesses de Roy Dupuis!
½ July 18, 2008
Si jolie, mais un vrai Scrooge
½ March 27, 2008
This was the SADEST movie EVER!!!! The jam scence by the creek - SO SAD!
March 19, 2008
bien reprit toutefdois tes cucu et populaire
½ February 29, 2008
J'etais vraiment contente de vivre a mon epoque!
February 8, 2008
trop beau comme film!!!
½ February 2, 2008
Quand Karine Vanasse braille, je braille comme un veau qui a perdu sa mere...
½ December 29, 2007
haaaaaaaaa, it was sooooooooo boringggggggggg.
December 2, 2007
Very weepy, but it does what it sets out to. I was rooting for Seraphin all the way, but most of the performances were great.

Beautiful picture of a Quebec village and society in the 19th century. People were living closer to the edge than we do, making tough choices. If they screwed up, it could mean death or at least, ruination.
November 18, 2007
Du Quebecois a son meilleur
October 29, 2007
Cry, cry, cry...Klinex, Klinex, Klinex!
C'est beau des hsitoires impossible, mais ça nous torture...Très bon quand on a envie de brailler!Musique prenante...Beaucoup d'émotions!
Page 1 of 2