Seven Pounds - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Seven Pounds Reviews

Top Critic
Ben Kenigsberg
Time Out
November 18, 2011
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Trevor Johnston
Time Out
January 16, 2009
It's not what you'd call any good, but Claude Lelouch fans, say, might relish its grandiose romantic gestures in the face of all known logic.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/6
Top Critic
Ben Lyons
At the Movies
December 22, 2008
I think it's just kind of average but Rosario Dawson is great and worthy of some type of recognition throughout this award show season.
Top Critic
Ben Mankiewicz
At the Movies
December 22, 2008
That big twist at the end... if you go back and analyze it -- I'm not sure it holds up, but I don't think it really matters all that much.
Top Critic
Peter Rainer
Christian Science Monitor
December 19, 2008
As high concepts go, Seven Pounds is distasteful in the extreme.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Top Critic
Richard Corliss
TIME Magazine
December 19, 2008
It's a lovely performance [by Dawson], in part because her character throws every charm she's got at the one man who seems doomed to deflect it.
Top Critic
Joe Morgenstern
Wall Street Journal
December 19, 2008
It takes the soggy cake for multiple layers of sentimentality topped by indigestible grandiosity.
Top Critic
Peter Howell
Toronto Star
December 19, 2008
You will either be frustrated with its asymmetrical and manipulative storytelling or be captivated by scattered clues that ultimately lead to some kind of resolution.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Moira MacDonald
Seattle Times
December 19, 2008
A convoluted tearjerker complete with murky camerawork and even murkier emotions.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Mick LaSalle
San Francisco Chronicle
December 19, 2008
It affirms life as something enormous and important, not small, not meaningless, but monumental and worthy of big statements.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
December 19, 2008
On an emotional level, one could decree that the movie is satisfying. On an intellectual level, it's disappointingly shallow.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Carrie Rickey
Philadelphia Inquirer
December 19, 2008
A case study in overkill.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Scott Tobias
AV Club
December 19, 2008
Smith's quest is the worst kind of sentimental gimmick: He's like Oskar Schindler and Oprah rolled into one. But credit Smith and Pursuit Of Happyness director Gabriele Muccino for keeping the tone solemn and muted.
Read More | Original Score: C+
Top Critic
Rafer Guzman
Newsday
December 19, 2008
The script, by Grant Nieporte, seems to fundamentally misunderstand its moral themes.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Stephen Whitty
Newark Star-Ledger
December 19, 2008
The whole thing ends in what's meant to be a spectacular act of selfless generosity -- but really plays as mad, messianic egoism.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Lou Lumenick
New York Post
December 19, 2008
The sad truth is that if you laid this movie out chronologically -- and maybe if you don't -- not a whole lot of it makes any sense.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Elizabeth Weitzman
New York Daily News
December 19, 2008
You'll have plenty of time for your mind to wander; feel free to spend some of it imagining what this imposing pair could do with the right material.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Colin Covert
Minneapolis Star Tribune
December 19, 2008
Seven Pounds is a difficult story, multilayered, spare and full of detail, thoughtfully told.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Rene Rodriguez
Miami Herald
December 19, 2008
Muccino, who balanced humor and pathos so well in Happyness, goes too heavy on the melodrama this time, at the expense of practically any other emotional shadings.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
A.O. Scott
New York Times
December 19, 2008
I would tell you to go out and see it for yourself, but you might take that as a recommendation rather than a plea for corroboration. Did I really see what I thought I saw?
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Jan Stuart
Los Angeles Times
December 19, 2008
When an actor reaches a summit of unparalleled global popularity, it is probably hard to resist the temptation to play God.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Top Critic
Amy Biancolli
Houston Chronicle
December 19, 2008
The film closes on a meeting between two characters that's now wayyyy high on my list of weirdest moments in cinema. It is, I think, supposed to be touching.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Rick Groen
Globe and Mail
December 19, 2008
It's probably safe to argue that never before has the spirit of giving been pushed any higher. How high? According to my altimeter, to that oxygen-deprived point where lachrymose meets laughable.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Tom Long
Detroit News
December 19, 2008
Seven Pounds features the best performance by a jellyfish in a film this year. Really, the thing is mesmerizing.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Top Critic
Lisa Kennedy
Denver Post
December 19, 2008
Not all holiday cheer need come in broad comedic strokes to warm the multiplex throngs.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Tom Maurstad
Dallas Morning News
December 19, 2008
It's impossible to talk about the movie without revealing the least little thing about its secret. And the secret is so flimsy, absurd and obvious that, if we write about it at all, you could figure it out from almost the moment the movie starts.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Top Critic
J. R. Jones
Chicago Reader
December 19, 2008
Will Smith has fame, fortune, and a beautiful family, but that's not enough -- he wants you to know what a beneficent guy he is too.
Top Critic

Boston Globe
December 19, 2008
Too often the movie's preposterous ideas of goodly sacrifice blur the line between altruism and self-importance.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Michael Phillips
Chicago Tribune
December 19, 2008
Seven Pounds has a heart as big as all outdoors. Unfortunately it's made out of high-fructose bull
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Christopher Orr
The New Republic
December 19, 2008
[A] dour, morally beclouded film that confuses generosity and grief, self-abnegation and self-annihilation.
Top Critic
Laremy Legel
Film.com
December 19, 2008
Seven Pounds has one fantastic scene that I wish we could all see and discuss. Sadly, to get to that scene you have to sit through quite a bit of melodrama (with a side of cheese).
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Top Critic
Stephanie Zacharek
Salon.com
December 18, 2008
As holiday heartwarmers go, Seven Pounds is so unintentionally ghoulish, it makes Black Christmas look like It's a Wonderful Life.
Top Critic
Amy Nicholson
I.E. Weekly
December 18, 2008
Will Smith stars with aliens and zombies and superheros, yet this is his first film that's wholly unbelievable.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Top Critic
Michael O'Sullivan
Washington Post
December 18, 2008
It's one of the clearest portrayals of a character's doubt, and ultimate resolution, I've seen in a good long while.
Top Critic
Christy Lemire
Associated Press
December 18, 2008
Seven Pounds is a clever one, all right, but it might actually be too clever for its own good.
Top Critic
Claudia Puig
USA Today
December 18, 2008
While it doesn't break any new ground or provide any revelations, Seven Pounds is unabashedly emotional and cautiously hopeful. It's the feel-good movie for these feel-bad times.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Lisa Schwarzbaum
Entertainment Weekly
December 18, 2008
An unintentionally ludicrous drama of repentance as an extreme sport.
Full Review | Original Score: D
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
December 18, 2008
I am fascinated by films that observe a character who is behaving precisely, with no apparent motivation. A good actor brings such a role into focus, as Will Smith does in the enigmatically titled Seven Pounds.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Kirk Honeycutt
Hollywood Reporter
December 17, 2008
Spiritual redemption is not a typical Hollywood theme, but this Will Smith movie shows it can be done.
Top Critic
Todd McCarthy
Variety
December 17, 2008
Intricately constructed so as to infuriate anyone predominantly guided by rationality and intellect.
Top Critic
Bill Goodykoontz
Arizona Republic
December 17, 2008
It's only Smith's performance that makes the tears worth crying.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Roger Moore
Orlando Sentinel
December 17, 2008
An emotional movie at the most emotional time of the year, it works to keep its secrets. But more importantly, when the tears do come, it has earned them.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Scott Foundas
Village Voice
December 16, 2008
Dispiritingly obvious and phony from top to bottom