Sex and the City - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Sex and the City Reviews

Page 2 of 9
Peta Hellard
Daily Telegraph (Australia)
June 8, 2008
The film is raw, sentimental and outrageously materialistic - just as a true fan would hope and expect it would be.
Des Partridge
Courier Mail (Australia)
June 7, 2008
While he's let the movie run to excessive length, the well-practiced Parker King (throwing in more brand names than you will find in a Myers catalogue) knows what his target audience wanted from this reunion.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Jake Wilson
The Age (Australia)
June 7, 2008
I had to wonder what happened to the qualities that made the show famous: the outrageous dialogue, the sense of female camaraderie, the embrace of casual sex as a guiltless pleasure.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Leigh Paatsch
Herald Sun (Australia)
June 7, 2008
The pacing barely ever breaks out of a light plod. And the writing is very, very average.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Margaret Pomeranz
At the Movies (Australia)
June 7, 2008
This movie has generated record excitement in just about every woman of my acquaintance.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Erin Free
FILMINK (Australia)
June 7, 2008
When it neglects the fizz in favour of the grit (or at least the kind of grit acceptable for Sex And The City), this femme phenomenon hits the spot.
Evan Williams
The Australian
June 7, 2008
Here is an unashamed celebration of materialist values, an orgy of labels, brands and product placements as sinful, by implication, as the behaviour of the characters.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Bob Grimm
Reno News and Review
June 6, 2008
I love Sarah Jessica Parker...Carrie and Mr. Big are definitely the best things about this film. But, at 2.5 hours long, there's just not enough good stuff to put this one over the top. I hate the sound of Kim Cattrall speaking, so that didn't help.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.25/5
Philip Martin
Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
June 6, 2008
... a gay camp parody of the way fabulous heterosexual women court affection
Full Review | Original Score: 76/100
Lori Hoffman
Atlantic City Weekly
June 5, 2008
Sarah Jessica Parker's complex dance with love, marriage and Mr. Big provides the biggest notes in a symphony of wailing womanhood.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Thomas Peyser
Style Weekly (Richmond, VA)
June 4, 2008
As the movie drifts into its third hour, you start to feel that it's not joy that's keeping you in the theater. It's duty.
Matt Brunson
Creative Loafing
June 4, 2008
As for the fanboys, they really should do something more beneficial to humankind than attacking female-centric films every chance they get -- ever hear of that proverbial long walk off a short pier?
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Gina Carbone
Seacoast Newspapers (NH/Maine)
June 3, 2008
I'm just not that into it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Mike McGranaghan
Aisle Seat
June 3, 2008
Sex and the City never feels like a cash-in. Instead, it plays more like a labor of love for everyone involved.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Phil Villarreal
Arizona Daily Star
June 3, 2008
Shock hit me several times while watching the movie, and never in a good way.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Andrea Chase
Killer Movie Reviews
June 3, 2008
the pithy premise becomes just so much sub-par chick-lit
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Prairie Miller
NewsBlaze
June 3, 2008
That neurotic clotheshorse and her somewhat liberated lusty ladies in waiting, steal the small screen show in their big screen debut, despite wearing their SATC sentimental and bubble-headed surface appeal like a badge of honor.
Austin Kennedy
Sin Magazine
June 2, 2008
I will be up front about this. The movie was not made for me, so I found it pretty insignificant. But it's also quite painless.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Jackie K. Cooper
jackiekcooper.com
June 2, 2008
The movie contains story lines strong enough to entertain both men and women
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Top Critic
Bob Mondello
NPR.org
June 2, 2008
This celebration with Carrie & Co. — very much television writ large — seems precisely the Sex and the City reunion the show's fans had hoped for.
Full Review | Original Score: 5.5/10
Page 2 of 9